We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Amherst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Amherst to your Saves list
Super 8 Amherst
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40 Lord Amherst Drive | Trans Canadian Hwy 104, Exit 4, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 4W6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
VENICE
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very nice stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a very nice 2 night stay at this hotel. It appears this hotel is fairly new and well maintained. The desk clerk was very nice and offered recommendations for places to eat. The price was high for a Super8 based on US rates but Canada seems to be more expensive on everything. The beds were harder than we like.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janalyn, General Manager at Super 8 Amherst, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review our hotel is 8 years old . We are updating our matresses in the near future with pillow top matress .Our prices in Canada hotels are higher than the US prices like you said everything else is higher as well.Glad you were able to visit the maritimes hope to see you agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    119
    58
    9
    4
See reviews for
122
54
8
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, MI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here on our way to the Nova Scotia coast.Did not know there was such a thing as Atlantic time ! All places to eat except fast food closed at 8pm.The motel was clean.As mentioned prior the beds are hard.There was a hockey team there that night-and we were on the same floor as these teenagers were! But, the coach must have been good-did not hear any noises that night.The team was at the pool and the hot tub was full of young men-but they were respectful of us elders.The pool floor was flooded from the water slide-could have used some type of floor rugs to prevent slipping-which I almost did inspite of holding my husband's arm as we walked around pool to hot tub.Breakfast was good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janalyn, General Manager at Super 8 Amherst, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are going to be placing new beds in all rooms as well update the bedding,pillows on or before May 2013 with pillow top matress. I am currently looking into having some sort of pool deck tile on the pool deck if permited by a few different deciders regarding this due to health standards etc if so we will be going ahead with this. Thank you for your suggestion. So glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast in the morning .Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Business trip to my home town.......only 1 item of concern....PLEASE SECURE YOUR INTERNET!!! Being in the field, I was totally surprised that the free internet provided at the hotel was not secured ie no Key required....I could have easily sat outside in the parking lot and launched an internet DOC attack completely unknown and undetectable....Front desk staff explanation was not acceptable....to me at least....

Other than that I enjoyed my stay. Thank you Amherst!!

Dan - Hewlett-Packard - Cupertino, California

Room Tip: Suites are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janalyn, General Manager at Super 8 Amherst, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment Dan. We have taken your concerns to our IT support who have added a secured connection option for our guests in addition To the open connection that is available at our hotel. We still need to maintain an “open” connection as many travelers still have equipment that cannot connect properly to a “secured” network. We have also added warning to the open network that informs guests that it is an unsecured connection. Our IT support also confirms that our wireless network does have the ability to automatically detect and block DOS attacks should they occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a wonderful evening here with my grandsons, pool and slide was great, front desk directed us to a great restaurant but when I put my head to the pillow I was really disappointed. I'm sure it was just the room we were in 301 but may happen in 201 also. There was an unrelenting buzz or vibration or something that you didn't notice until everything went quiet. Not sure if it had something to do with the pool or not but just ask for a room not on that end of hotel.

Room Tip: not 301 - noise in the wall that you only notice after all else is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janalyn, General Manager at Super 8 Amherst, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
You may have heard the air units as they on that end,very sorry that you were disturbed . Glad that you and your grandson had a good day!! I have noted for your next stay if you are in the area again.Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at the Super 8 for 3 nights in August 2012. Staff very friendly and helpful. Decent breakfast. The waterslide is fun, but for older children aged 5 years+. When people are going down the water slide there is little room for younger children to play. The rooms really need a refresh. The carpet and bedding is old. Worst of all, our pull out couch for our son was like springs covered in kleenex. Awful. Definitely new pull-out beds are required! The TV and wi-fi is fine, hotel is clean overall. What we didn't know until we checked in was that the hotel accepts pets. Several dogs were on our floor alone. We were NOT informed of this when we booked the hotel. If you have allergies this is definitely not the place for you. I'd say this hotel would be be fine for a one night stay, but not great for a vacation spot.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janalyn, General Manager at Super 8 Amherst, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are working on getting new beds as well as bedding prior to May 2013. We are a pet friendly hotel so our guest can have their four legged friends with them as well. We do not always have pets in house, we do advertise on all web pages etc. that we are pet friendly hotel. We do not always know until the day of or check in that people have a pet with them. So sorry if this disrupted you and your family. Our staff always is Super thank you for mentioning. Hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great service here, good breakfast, and a lovely town to drive through. The old buildings are beautiful! Front desk crew was great. They let us look at the room first, the only thing we would have changed, the bed was a little too hard, and we like firm mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janalyn, General Manager at Super 8 Amherst, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
So glad you liked our little town . We are looking into getting all new beds and bedding by 2013 . Hopefully you are around again to try these out. Thank you for the comments I will let the staff know as well that they are doing a Super job. Thanks again have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, IL
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed in many Super 8 hotels in the past, but this one is the best. It is only 8 years old and is very, very clean. Very conveniently located off a main highway on the east side. Has a covered drive thru and automatic doors. If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest that you get a room on the back side since the front side faces the highway. Sara, our checkin hostess, was very friendly. One computer is available for guest use, and coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby.

The pool is one of the best that I have seen for a Super 8 or for any hotel. Besides the pool, there is a covered curved tube slide and a mushroom waterfall. Also has a hot tub.

Our room had a king bed that was just a little too firm for me for really good sleeping. A flat screen TV with satellite channel lineup was provided along with a microwave and a fridge. Coffee and tea were available.

The bath was all in one room with a shower/tub combo. Great shower. There was a separate mirror and vanity outside the bathroom. An exhaust fan was provided.

A complimentary continental breakfast was provided with good coffee. The eating area was a little small especially for weekenders.

Just wish all Super 8 hotels were this nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janalyn, General Manager at Super 8 Amherst, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your notes regarding our hotel . So glad you and your family enjoyed all we have to offer. We will be replacing all new beds and bedding through out the hotel within the year . So happy Sara was a great help. Have a Super day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amherst

Address: 40 Lord Amherst Drive | Trans Canadian Hwy 104, Exit 4, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 4W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Amherst
Amherst Super Eight
Amherst Super 8
Super 8 Amherst Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.