We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella's Cafe & Bistro

Bella's Cafe & Bistro
117 Victoria St, Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: 902-660-3090 - must add this to the list, a choice for people who do not want fast food nor pub food nor ok chinese. Huge surprise to find this delightful restaurant in this town. Lovely watercolors by local artist, guitar player - excellent food - went back twice in 24 hours - supper was beautiful haddock, rice and veg $12. Went back for lunch - yummy panini $8 , chowder $6 and salads $8. Very reasonable
Restaurant details
Description: 902-660-3090 - must add this to the list, a choice for people who do not want fast food nor pub food nor ok chinese. Huge surprise to find this delightful restaurant in this town. Lovely watercolors by local artist, guitar player - excellent food - went back twice in 24 hours - supper was beautiful haddock, rice and veg $12. Went back for lunch - yummy panini $8 , chowder $6 and salads $8. Very reasonable
Daytona Beach
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our last night in Nova Scotia, we wanted to have something really delicious, and stumbled into this charming place in the old downtown. Don't let the neighborhood fool you, this is well worth the visit. Our seafood chowder was the best we had in the Maritimes, and was loaded with real, big chunks of all kinds of delicious goodness. Don't miss this one in the Amherst area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Great Find! Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stopped in Amherst a lovely market was taking place! Cafe Bella drew our attention so in we popped! What a lovely, unique place! Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch! Well presented and tasty, and such a nice atmosphere! A really lovely find while touring!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
522 helpful votes 522 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here on our way to PEI and found this restaurant to be delightful. It feels like a cozy tea room. The waitresses are friendly and warm.
I had their seafood chowder and a grilled cheese sandwich and both were excellent. It made us want to come back and try their dinner menu.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pat and Rick provided a wonderful home-cooked meal for our choir touring group. As this was a Tuesday evening, they are normally closed and we had the place to ourselves. We had contacted them before we left home and they were happy to feed 25 of us at once without any difficulty.

This is a lovely little restaurant in the centre of Amherst, offering great food and beverages. If you're traveling through this part of Nova Scotia, it's well worth your time to find Bella's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Based on reviews, popped in for supper and wasnt disappointed. Very friendly service,. Fish was done in a unique way and they gladly adjusted that I didnt wnat certain items it came with. The carrot cake wasnt the greatest, but oh well. Suggestion: put in a fan, the air is very stuffy and I smelled like cooking when I left. Flowers on the table from the local florist - what a nice touch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bella's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella's Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.