We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Macpherson

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Macpherson
871 Rue Shefford | Place 871, Bromont, Quebec, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 42 Restaurants in Bromont
Description: Fabulous Restaurant, pretty snazzy for such a sleeper of a town
Restaurant details
Description: Fabulous Restaurant, pretty snazzy for such a sleeper of a town
Mississauga
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I come to Bromont each summer and this restaurant was always on the list of places to eat. After last night's experience, I can't say I will return. I usually order the filet but decided to try the roast beef, cooked medium (don't hate me for that, I like it pink through!) When it arrived, it looked like a poor cut and it was cold. They took it back to the kitchen and even though it was "heated", I found it to be inedible. Our server took my meal away and I asked if it was going to be thrown out anyway, could I take it home for my dog. He returned with a take-out container but no offer of complimentary dessert, glass of wine, my meal taken off the bill- I assumed it would be. Imagine my surprise when I saw it there!! Our server said that Manager thought the problem was fixed so there shouldn't be any issue. I asked to speak with her, who missed the memo on Customer Service. She begrudgingly comped my meal and removed the take home container in a visible huff!! Barely offered little more than insincere apology has prompted this review. The server did his best, and I happen to get a bad meal, but the way in which it was handled demonstrated a real lack of finesse.
On a side note, it would be nice if the back patio had the same, more comfortable, furniture as the front patio...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    7
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Reasonable food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I went to the Macpherson Bistro Steakhouse (Le) on the recommendation of the owner of the accommodation i had booked for the weekend. She advised that if i wanted the best steak in town this was the place to go. Being in town for a weekend of bike riding i didn't have a great collection of clothes. I arrived at Macpherson wearing an Anthrax T-shirt and shorts. while this probably isn't the most appropriate clothing for the restaurant i was ushered out of the main restaurant and taken to the lounge bar where I was told i would be more comfortable. The main restaurant has an English menu. The lounge bar does not. I was also, the only guest in the bar. It was just me, the chef sitting at the bar and the waitress. I had no idea what i was ordering (i can't speak or read french) but the food was nice and the service was quick. i wound up with a smoked meat sandwich rather than the steak i was hoping for. My most disappointing experience in 6 weeks in Quebec.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No Question One of the best local restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Friday night -24 Celsius and at 8:30 PM no one there! Probably the best Caesar salad I have had in a long time, very tasty, you have to LOVE garlic and very ample. Ribs were melt in your mouth, excellent sauce and more than a man size portion in the full rack. Very nice choice of wines. Wide choice of very tasty appetizers. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am French speaking and visited the Bromont area with my parents. It was a quick overnight stop, on a lazy Sunday and we were looking for a nice place to eat. Although Bromont has a few main stream restaurants (St-Hubert, Sushi Shop etc) right off Highway 10, it was well worth our while to stroll down to the "Vieux-Village" area (Old Town) and chose to eat on the beautiful outdoor terrasse at Place MacPherson's Steakhouse. (Cool fact :If it gets too cold, they bring out blankets!!...)

My mom took a glance at some of the reviews on here (but never told me, of course...haha) and was secretly quite suspicious about how good our experience would be. I don't blame her after checking it out myself!

Anyways, our server, Pierre, was absolutely wonderful, knowledgeable about his menu, very fun and polite. We had a succulent diner (see attached pictures) which we were served in a timely manner, and we wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowansville, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey But good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great classy place, but pricey and clientele is a little too snobby for me. Food and drinks are good, service is ok

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Macpherson also viewed

 

Been to Le Macpherson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Macpherson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.