We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent thermal bath experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balnea

Balnea
319 ch. Lac Gale, Bromont, Quebec J2L 2S5, Canada
450 534 0604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Bromont
Type: Spas
Attraction Details
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent thermal bath experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We came only for the baths, which is the real strength of this place.
The day we were there it was very busy judging by the parking lot, and we arrived around noon, however it never felt crowded inside.
Lovely baths, hot and cold, saunas, and the lake is a picture perfect lake to swim in.
Mid afternoon we had a nap in the Moroccan relaxation rooms.

This is a special place, and we will certainly come back, and likely explore the pathways in the woods.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular mountain views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was a very beautiful and spacious spa.Many smaller hot tube along the lake. However the lake is in earshot of a small public beach with screaming kids , so we left the dock area after a few minutes. Had lovely drinks and relaxed on the outdoor couches. All staff was very friendly and accommodating. Massage was excellent , their massage therapists are well trained and pay attention to their clients. They have many relaxation areas including an aquarium room, relaxation cinema, a Moroccan styled rest beds and a place that look like the shire from the hobbit , with a door leading into the side of the mountain ( inside resembles a finnish sauna but at lower temperature with candles ). My husband had an appetizer of smoked salmon and enjoyed it .Bring a bag for your wet clothes , they don't provide it.As well your own water bottle, the give you a reusable empty water bottle you return at the end.They should have fountains to replenish you water, other wise its only the restaurant or bathroom to fill up your water bottle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I'm in love !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just loved this experience - only the 2nd in my life. Wonderful scenic décor to relax in. Came on a Wednesday in mid-August and was not overcrowded. Lots of place at the lake and in the various saunas/pools. I can see that most of the negative comments relate to overcrowding. If I came at a busy time, I would not enjoy it either. But do come during a more quiet period as this is a beautiful place. We also did not have an issue with changing robes as we kept ours throughout but yes they do get a bit soggy and paying to have it changed can be frustrating but understandable. Very clean shower/locker rooms. We loved it all but then we received our massages and I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Yanni gave me the best massage I have ever had. If it wasn't so far from home, I would go there for the massage frequently. We only spent about 4 hours here and if we return, we'd make it a full-day affair - would bring a book and take a snooze on one of the many day beds or floating beds on the lake. Only negative comment: their parking is small and although the spa itself did not seem crowded, the top parking lot was full and we had to park on the lower level which was also nearly full. Plus the very fine dust/sand of the parking lot makes a mess of your car.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb in many ways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Suberb site in the beautiful Bromont countryside, supeb buildings in communion with nature, superb spa facilties, superb massages, services, staff, and healthy food! I always delight in the 'Balnea' massage! Ongoing evaluations of staff ensure only the cream of the cream are there to give you the best spa experience possible. Visitors we brought with us were always impressed and have returned on their own. One of my favourite places to go back to being 'Zen'! Great as a couple retreat or with friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Idealism spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fabulous setting, beautiful grounds, wonderful spa pools, saunas and relaxation rooms with stunning views. Great staff and service. Excellent food and great value for money. We will definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieEmond, Owner at Balnea, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Harriscoach,
Thanks for sharing your appreciation! Looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Lots of novelty to come this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balnea also viewed

 

Been to Balnea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balnea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balnea to your Saves list