We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Food Cafe

Real Food Cafe
223 10th Ave North, Creston, British Columbia V0B 1G0, Canada
250 428 8882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Creston
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Contemporary, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Down to Earth Wholesome Goodness Hearty Portions, friendly staff non-smoking outdoor patio with wheelchair access. Exciting dishes using locally sourced ingredients, almost everything made from scratch, Gluten Free and Vegetarian friendly.Real British Fish and Chips and the best homemade desserts including Sticky Toffee Pudding and Bread Pudding with local cherries, white chocolate and whiskey sauce.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Based on the reviews on tripadvisor I thought I'd check out this restaurant while I was in Creston on business. I was not disappointed. The valley salad and the BBQ wild salmon were excellent and just when I thought it could not get any better, the sticky toffee pudding was the best I have ever had. The restaurant atmosphere was pleasant and the service was great. The prices were also quite reasonable for the high quality of the food. The next day when I had to head back to Vancouver, I was able to order the sticky toffee pudding to go and it was excellent again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    21
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were passing through Creston and looking for an early dinner. A local shop keeper suggested Real Food Cafe and we were very happy with the recommendation. The food was excellent (Valley Salad, Fish Pie, Vegetarian Curry), the service was attentive but not overly so. If you are in Creston and looking for out of the ordinary fare at reasonable prices, then go looking for the Real Food Cafe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here on the May long weekend. The inside of the restaurant is much larger than you are led to believe from the outside. Wooden tables with fresh flowers make for a relaxed setting. The servers are exceptionally attentive and the food is to die for...all local, organic food. I had the vegetarian coconut-curry with naan bread & basmati rice, and my husband had the fish and chips. Both dishes were spiced & cooked to perfection. Mike's fish was a foot long, lightly battered, served with mashed peas, coleslaw and hand cut fries. For dessert, Mike had the nightly special of a cherry sundae with fresh whipped cream, and small cakes with nuts both on top & in the bottom of the dish. I went for the warm carrot cake with the buttermilk caramel glaze & fresh whipped cream. All this, along with an appetizer of foccacia bread with local cheese and two softdrinks for $50. We would have went the next night if they hadn't been closed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A welcoming atmosphere and wonderful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We go to Real Food Cafe often and have always found a warm, friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The food is always a winner. The flavors are wonderful and the variety of dishes means there's always something on the menu to fit the mood of the day. It's like home cooking with a flair. They pride themselves on sourcing as many ingredients locally as they can. I don't think there was ever a time we were there when we didn't see friends dining there too. You won't find a better place for lunch or dinner in Creston.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hands Down the Best Restaurant in Creston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

No doubt in our minds Real Food Cafe should be #1 the best restaurant in Creston. Quality of the food is outstanding, the price of the food is amazing, servers are wonderful, atmosphere is amazing. I usually have trouble with restaurant food, but no doubt because of the quality of the ingredients I do not find that here what so ever. You will want to try everything on the menu. I am also in a wheelchair and Real Food Cafe has the best access in town (around the back of the restaurant).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Food Cafe also viewed

Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Real Food Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Food Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.