We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surface clean and tidy but not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Creston Valley Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Creston Valley Motel to your Saves list
Creston Valley Motel
1809 Canyon Street | right across the street from Dairy Queen, Creston, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free kitchen/kitchenette
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surface clean and tidy but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

First I detest people that make money by charging extra for a pet. Especially when there are special 'pet' rooms.
Room was clean but things like rusty sprung door, rusty bathroom fixtures , moldy messing caulking under air conditioner turned me off. Silver ing on bathroom mirror shot. Tub fixtures corroded. No ice machine, no pop machine, hell there wasn't even a box if Kleenex in the room. Room was hotter than hell. Furniture circa 1960. Everything was dated. You can feel the unlevel floor and outside the room
the smell of garbage was present. Not to mention you have to park in an alley in a seedy neighborhood.
Owners exceedingly friendly but hey, I'd value this room at about $50 not $89. I've stayed in nicer places for less in the creston valley.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Creston Valley Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We appreciate any feedback that we can get, even from guests that are not happy with our motel.
I will try to address each of your complaints individually.
1- Not all of our rooms are pet friendly. The rooms that are dog friendly, ALWAYS take extra time to clean, which is why there is an additional charge of $10.00.
2- Since we took over the motel 1 1/2 years ago. We have been working hard on the rooms to make them as comfortable as possible. We have not been able to fix every room as of yet, and unfortunately the room that you stayed in, is one of the rooms slated for a renovation this winter.
3- There is NO mold under the air conditioner, which you could have turned on if you were hot.
4- There is ice, water, and soda in the office.
5- Yes there is no Kleenex in the room.
6- I do need to ask. Why did you not mention any of these concerns, when you checked in. I would have gladly suggested a motel, or hotel in town that would have more suited your taste.
7- If you did smell garbage. It was not from our room. Unfortunately, although we try. There are some things out of our control. Such as outside odors.
8- As for the price of $89.00. There is a 13% government tax that we have no control over.
We are very sorry that you didn't have a nice stay at our motel.
Unfortunately, If there is something wrong with any part of your stay, and the guest does not mention it we can't fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
23
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobble Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We usually stay at chain hotels but after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to give it a try. We were very pleased and especially the atmosphere. Bill and Ruth are truly wonderful people and I so enjoyed the conversations we had. They were so helpful in directing us to the places we wanted to visit. Would definitely stay there again if we visit Creston again. Thanks Bill & Ruth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Creston Valley Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate you giving our "mom&pop" style, motel a try.
We are always here to offer any help or suggestions, to our guests, to ensure that they enjoy their visit to the Creston area.
We hope to see you again if your passing through the area.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Although we arrived in Creston a little earlier than check-in time, Ruth greeted us warmly & immediately showed us to our clean, cozy, comfortable & nicely furnished room. She offered suggestions for local activities (the brewery tour was great!). When we returned later that afternoon she provided a rags, soap & bucket to clean the motorcycle & sat outside & visited with us while warmly greeting other guests as they arrived. Bill returned later that afternoon fresh from a motorcycle ride & suggested a slight detour for our motorcycle trip the next day -- his recommendation was fabulous! Bill & Ruth are SUPERB hosts that truly care about their guests, which is obvious in the special touches they have added to the rooms & the time they take to make guests feel right at home. If we are ever in Creston again, we will only stay with Ruth & Bill! Thank you so much for the great memories & conversation!

Room Tip: Although close to the highway, we did not hear any road noise in Room #33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Creston Valley Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are happy to do anything we can to make your stay more enjoyable. You are not just customers. You are our guest.
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We usually stick to the larger chains such as Best Western . Reviews here made us "chance it" and give this place a try. Very very happy stay. Yes, it is an older building but the saying "mother in law approved" on the supplied note pad says it all. Scrupulously clean. Like silly clean. Warm welcome from owner . Motorcycle riders made VERY welcome.
It will be our stay at place in Creston from now on.
$79 got us a fully equipped kitchenette. Full summer rate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Creston Valley Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Our goal is simple. Just treat the guests the same way we would like to be treated if it were the two of us travelling.
We know you have many accommodation choices when travelling. Thank you for giving us the chance to be your NEW favorite stay in Creston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Creek, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Many thanks to Ruth & Bill for making our visit to Creston, BC awesome! Great location within walking distance to restaurants. Our room was very spacious with separate bedroom, full kitchen and living room. Love the brightly colored lawn chairs to enjoy the gorgeous weather and scenery. Ruth & Bill are great hostesses and provide the little extras that will make us return to Creston Valley Motel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Creston Valley Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Vacation time is way too short. We just do what we can to make the time here a little more memorable.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you can come back soon for another visit.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem of a motel on a motorbike trip. The welcome and hospitality was amazing. The rooms are spotless, the beds are very comfy and the atmosphere is friendly. They even leave clean rags to wipe down your ride in the morning. They helped us plan the second leg of our bike trip to an area we would have skipped. It was so good we made sure to stay there on our way back. The quality of the stay was awesome and the price was cheap! We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Creston Valley Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hearing that our guests really enjoyed the motel, is truly the best part of our job. To be able to offer the little extras, whether that be cleaning rags, maps, or even wine glasses,... no problem. What ever we can do to make your stay more enjoyable is our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at this motel on both the outbound and return legs of a trip to Spokane. On both occasions, I was totally impressed on how the owners have revitalized this old motel, and how it lives up to the motto "Clean to the corners"! On the outbound leg I was able to book in advance, and had one of the larger and fully renovated rooms. The room came with a generous flat-screen TV and fully modernized kitchenette. The furnishings were modern, except for a somewhat elderly hide-a-bed couch, and the bed extremely comfortable. What impressed me most, however, was the almost 'operating-room' cleanliness of the place. I've traveled extensively throughout both rural and urban BC in many different types of hotels/motels, and I've never been in a room so clean.

On my return leg I took a chance and dropped in to see if they had any vacancy. I got the last room, which was a smaller unit still in the process of renovation. While the furnishings were mainly new and again the bed was both new and comfortable, the bathroom and shower were as yet un-renovated, but again very clean. Another flat screen TV complemented the furnishings.

The owners of this motel have obviously invested substantial capital and huge sweat equity into this motel and it shows. They are a fabulous couple who clearly love what they are doing and are proud (rightly) of their establishment. This is by far the best place to stay in Creston, and totally outweighs the bland charms of the chain hotel in town.

If you are in the Creston area, do yourself a favor and stay at this charming motel!!!

Room Tip: Choose (if available) one of the fully renovated rooms with the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Creston Valley Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We want to thank you for this glowing review, and to assure you, that all the kind words you posted only make us want to work even harder to make sure, what ever unit we have for you becomes your new favorite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creston Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creston Valley Motel

Address: 1809 Canyon Street | right across the street from Dairy Queen, Creston, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Creston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Clean to the Corners" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Creston Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creston Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.