We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a light bite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Paw Bar & Grill

Bear's Paw Bar & Grill
5225 Fairmont Resort Road, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Hot Springs Resort)
250.345.6000
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Ok for a light bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant wasn't at all busy when we visited and we were quickly attended to by our wait staff. We both ordered a steak sandwich with a side of fries. These arrived hot, fresh and promptly.

The meal was tasty and our drinks were refilled as often as required. The ambience was OK but nothing special.

Next time we are back in the area we might try an alternative restaurant, not because this was bad but it wasn't outstanding either.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kimberley
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Hidden in the resort but worth taking the time out to pop up for a meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great menu selection, servers very pleasant and chatty and food was really good. We didn't know it was there so was a very pleasant surprise and we will be back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, BUT...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited this place on Valentines day. The resort was busy, but not crazy. The bar seats minors until 7:00pm. There was one very large group that kept growing, long past the 7:00pm deadline, with at least a dozen young kids left unsupervised while the adults sat at their own tables. But back to the Bear's Paw. Food was definitely not worth the price. Daughter's BBQ chicken poutine was smothered in BBQ sauce, overpowering the poutine. Son's burger was good...the highlight of our meal. My quesadilla was very crispy and burned. It might have been good if they hadn't charred it. Portions were good, so the potential for a good meal is there.

Unfortunately, the Service was HORRIBLE!! We waited 45 min from ordering to actually getting food. Never got refills on our drinks (pop). Finally took our glasses up to the bar and asked for refills. Waited nearly 30 minutes for our bill or for anyone to pick up our dirty dishes. This is not a large bar, and 3 waitresses should have been able to serve everyone without the massive delays we experienced. They were very inefficient and/or inexperienced. There were other waiters coming and going or standing around looking equally disorganized...presumably from the other dining rooms in the resort, and I'm assuming they all share a common kitchen. Based on service alone, we are going to avoid all the places at the Fairmont springs resort. Once bitten, twice shy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Easy choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great Nachos and beer on tap....nice atmosphere with in and out dining. Waitress was a super nice girl too

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Good beers, shared a pizza with my wife. Very well done not greasy but perfectly crispy. Fernie beers are always a great pick live the selection here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear's Paw Bar & Grill also viewed

Fairmont Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Fairmont Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fairmont Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Bear's Paw Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear's Paw Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.