We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities....Terrible Service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5225 Fairmont Resort Road, Box 10, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great facilities....Terrible Service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Be forewarned. A fabulous location, pools and grounds that should make this a great vacation spot, BUT..... When you pay over $240 a day for a 1 bdr cabin you should expect an above average level of service. Well you won't get it at this location. Cabin very small and cramped and dated. The service we received was very disappointing. Toilet bowl rim was stained, "Do not Disturb" sign totally ignored and when reminded to look at door sign response of "Oops," asked for an extra housecoat for 3rd adult -response NO -2per unit only, Steamers coffee bar out of coffee at 9:00 a.m. with response "they haven't brought me any yet." We did the much advertised "all you can eat Pasta" in the dining room. Like others reported on this site, we lined up for over 1 hour for our pasta to be cooked by a single chef who did a marvellous job but how ridiculous!. When we complained at desk were told, you're not the first to complain it has been like this all summer.
It is very sad and a major negative to BC Tourism that such a great facility is so poorly managed and run yet they can command such high prices and the public pays because there are few choices in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    94
    32
    28
    10
See reviews for
80
82
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The value for the accommodations and incredible views make this a spectacular find. The location is about an hour from a major city (Cranbrook) but the scenery is beautiful. The huge natural hot springs pools/hot tubs add another level of comfort and awe. The rooms are very comfortable and are very well priced including breakfast buffet. Very good customer service from staff. On-site restaurant and bar increase the options for entertainment. Rooms have a nice balcony with seating area and include fridge. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Depends on your preferences. So many options depending on your preference. I prefer spectacular moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort. The Hot Springs here at the Resort are Canada's largest natural mineral Hot Springs and our guests love to relax in them. We are glad you were able to enjoy the Resort amenities and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is our second year going to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort. Once again, we had a wonderful experience! This time we stayed on the ground floor walkout facing the pool. This is a great location, especially if you have kids - easy for them to run around and play on the grass in front of your room. Also nice not have to lug all your gear up and down stairs or elevator.

The rooms are a bit dated, but this doesn't bother us as the setting is quite rustic and we aren't looking for ultra-modern accommodations.

A few things that seemed lacking this time:

- the housekeeping staff never left enough toilet paper and didn't clean out our coffee pot for each morning. Minor inconveniences, but worth mentioning in case hotel management is reading this.

- the spa messed up our appointments even though we reconfirmed with them 3 times.

- the dining room pasta buffet had a huge line-up with just one chef cooking pasta to order. They need more cooks, or they need to ditch the idea of made to order pasta and just serve it as a hot buffet.

Anyway, those are just minor complaints in comparison to the wonderful family vacation we had in this absolutely gorgeous, relaxing mountain retreat. We're looking forward to making this an annual summer getaway for our family and extended family.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the convenience of ground floor, especially with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. We will take your points into consideration as we are always looking to improve our customer experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved our stay, so relaxing and midweek price was reasonable as it included breakfast and passes to pool but the rooms are dated and the dining room buffet (pasta) was absolutely ridiculous...we waited 1 hour to get in on a list and 1 hour in line to get our food. Was the most poorly run, understaffed dining experience I've ever come across, completely unacceptable (it has been like like for years according to others in line). All in all, we love the hot springs and convenience of being close but there is a lot of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Walkout was nice but noise above woke us up in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberty lake, wa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a one bedroom cabin. we have stayed here before in regular hotel rooms and decided to try something else. The cabin itself was pretty decent. It had an updated bathroom, cooktop but small fridge, flat screen tv.. not many outlets in the place though. The internet was now working so we were told to go up to the picnic tables up the hill to connect and then see if it would stay when you got back to your cabin. what a real pain. It was spotty at best for our visit.. My real complaint is the room set up... the bedroom is totally separate from the living room and has no air conditioning in it... no fan... nothing and to top it off no screens on the tiny windows that are up high. Really folks this is Canada,, there are bugs!!! The air conditioning in the front room was a hotel wall unit that kept shutting off into econo mode. you could not control it to stay on so it got so hot in the room... you would have to go back over and turn it on again.. finally we got tired of it and asked to be moved. They must have been real busy because each time we called the front desk it would ring forever before it was answered. They did come out and move us to a cottage right next to our cabin and it was soo much better... It was so cool in the two bedroom unit... the air conditioning straddles the two bedrooms so it kept it really nice and cool.. It had a full fridge and a little more space... I would never again stay in a cabin... not without being able to open windows... that is crazy but the staff did take care of us so I appreciate it...

Room Tip: do not get a cabin if you need internet or want to be cool at night.. Its probably fine for fall, sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are working on updating and improving the resort and its facilities, so we apologize that your initial accommodation wasn't ideal. We are glad you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay an that our staff were able to help you and your family. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

camped here for a week. The 'serviced' lot had no water so we had to fill the tanks daily. The public showers also had little or no water pressure. WASPS EVERYWHERE and we were unable to stay or eat outside because of them. Check in was sluggish though only 2 people ahead of us. Maintenance staff drive like crazy in the golf carts and when we raised concern they threatened to evict us. Not cool.
This campground is close to pools and the kids like that sort of stuff. Wasps are a problem with the kids, so it kinda' ruins it. There is nothing much going for this place, really. It could be a nice place with some attention and clean up, but seems to be neglected. The location is incredible.

Room Tip: other campgrounds in the area may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is adequate, and pet-friendly. Check-in was prompt and courteous. My three tweenage girls lived in the large pool with diving board, and hot springs pool. Dinner was mediocre, service the same. The rooms were just fine. The market offers adequate coffee/juice and muffins. Recommend: BYOFood; stocking rooms with fresh fruit/yogurt, breakfast/snack items. Overall, I would go again with moderate expectations.

Room Tip: BYOFood; stocking rooms with fresh fruit/yogurt, breakfast/snack items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your response!

We are glad you had a pleasant stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort and that your girls were able to enjoy the Hot Springs. We will take your suggestions into consideration as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Address: 5225 Fairmont Resort Road, Box 10, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Fairmont Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.