We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50-50 chance of a good view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside to your Saves list
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5129 Riverview Gate Road | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Hesperia, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“50-50 chance of a good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were very lucky, as we stayed in room 8115A, which had a great view and the room was great as well. However, we could see that many of the rooms had views of the parking lot and worse. Not sure if those were the lock off rooms, but if stuck with one of those I would have packed up and left. Whoever drew up the plans for this place should be tarred and feathered. With ours being so nice, I felt guilty and sad whenever we walked by and saw those in the bad locations. When we took the elevator up to our floor, we had to walk through the patio area of two of the rooms to get to our room. After that, we only used the stairs. The staff was great to us, but then we had nothing to complain about. The local golf is great, the area is great, so you should still be able to have a good time if you are willing to get out and about. Just don't plan on sitting out and enjoying your view, if stuck with one of the bad ones, and it appears there are many.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    49
    23
    10
    13
See reviews for
52
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After 35 years I was so looking forward to seeing the Canadian Rockies again. We exchanged our timeshare through RCI for Sunchaser Villas. The pictures of the villas were gorgeous and the veiw from the balcony exquisite. For months we looked forward to sitting there with our morning coffee and watching the sun rise. Instead we got a view of the parking lot with some muddy construction equipment and the RV park across a busy highway. We were told that we could not be moved because the resort was full and to contact RCI. We did and they said that they had no control over where the resort placed us. The area is beautiful and the one bedroom condo is adequate for sleeping and eating but we will have to see the scenery from somewhere else than our balcony. Feels like a rip off. Wish we had stayed in Banff like we did the rifts two days of our trip. The A units at least have a view of the golf course so if you are determine ed to come here at least make sure you book one of those. Also make sure you buy groceries before you come. There is only one market within about a 10-15 mile radius and the prices are crazy.

Room Tip: Not the B units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

building had wood rot and poorly maintained. mold in rooms. beds were very uncomfortable and had lumpy pillows. we requested newer ones but they were no better. it is obvious the resort is not putting any money into the place to keep it up. we did get a nice view of golf course from room. i would not recommend this place to anyone. if you go you've been warned.

Room Tip: read several comments about the place..research research research
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Ut.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were told we would have a corner unit which was larger than most - not true - I hope! I'm afraid we were very disappointed in our unit. Was dark and with no view ( except for parking lot) did not want to be in unit very much. Maybe that was the plan - go out and spend money? It really was to bad as the area around was very inviting but when you have a "cave" to go back to
its just not something we will do again. We seen where there were some of the units looked very nice with a balcony and more open interior. i guess it was our loss to be placed in one of the "B" units which we would give an "F". As described in other reviews the units are tired and in need of upgrading. The employees were sympathic but not willing to move us when we told them that we were not happy with our accommodation. Said they were at near full capacity and could not change our assigned unit. I really don't think that was the case -they just didn't want to have to
tidy up another unit. Unforunately it put a damper on an otherwise great get away and visit to our
friends to the north.

Room Tip: Don't accept a 1-bd "B" unit facing parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Hillside unit 8011B (2nd floor) thru a RCI exchange with a Saturday checkin. I would have preferred a unit with a view of the golf course and a sunny deck for evening BBQs, but instead I had a view of the mountains, highway, parking lot, and morning sunshine with my coffee on the deck (not so bad). The keys I was given at check in would not open the unit. I drove back to the Rec Centre and was given 2 different keys, but only one key worked. The CD player didn't work and I could not get radio reception in the unit. The WiFi was very slow during the day, but worked okay at 3 a.m. I was happy with the full kitchen and brought all my groceries from Calgary. There was a toddler thumping around in the unit above me - drove me a little nuts! We took day trips to Cranbrook, Kimberley, and Invermere. I walked and walked around Fairmont - a great area for walking and hiking.

Room Tip: In building 8000 you do not want a ground floor unit facing the parking lot - no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with our kids and grandkids for a week in August. Resort is nice but tired and beginning to look neglected. Pool heater gave out on day two so we had a cold pool for the rest of the week. Also, if you do need to connect on the internet for any reason don't count on the wireless in the visitors center. Extremely slow and needs to be rebooted constantly. Go to Bishop's Coffee shop and bookstore up the hill - great Cappucino and fast internet. That's where you will see all of the Riverside folks checking their email.

Room Tip: try to get a view side room - otherwise you are looking at a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom suite with another couple for a week in late June. There was a pretty significant difference between the master suite with King bed, walk-in shower, jacuzzi tub and private deck vs. the junior suite which was a queen bed with private access to the main bath (shower only). We drew the short straw. Kitchen was reasonably well equipped and the LR & DR furnishings were nice. Overall the suite was quite roomy. Between the four of us we had golf clubs, mountain bikes and all our gear stashed in all corners and there was still plenty of room to move about on the rainly days we elected to stay in.
The Riverside course was closed for part of our stay due to high water, but the Mountainside course was open and was very enjoyable. The rooms are in a good location. Short walk up to the Hot Springs and the couple of restaurants & market near there., Plenty of wildlife to see. A good spot from which to venture out into the wilds, do some biking, golfing or other recreating.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor facing the 10th fairway. Hillside suites. South facing deck. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Road | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.