We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Time Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Inn

Save Saved
You added Emerald Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 The Promenade | Takapuna, Takapuna 1309, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Takapuna
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Problems we experienced with a suite with spa bath were:-

1. Room wasn't ready at 2pm - we were given the keys, (no mention of it not being ready) and drove to our unit only to be told by the housekeeping staff that they hadn't started on cleaning the unit.
2. There was a terrible odour of sewage (or similar) from the basin. We had to fill the basin to stop this permeating the room. You certainly couldn't use the basin - unless you had no sense of smell.
3. Tried the spa bath - couldn't get this to fill - plug was useless and the pump wouldn't start - we were later told we hadn't switched it on, but the location of the switch 'on the wall' certainly wasn't obvious.

When we checked out the odour problem was noted,( will ring the plumber), but no apology or reduction in price offered. Rang the manager the next day - wasn't the slightest bit interested in the problems we had experienced.

Overall an appalling experience - this would have been bad value if it was free. Management not in the least bit concerned - maybe they deal with these sort of problems everyday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
19
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times and each experience was great. Excellent location, very clean and tidy. May be slight too expensive.
You can walk to beach with in seconds, restaurants within 2 minutes. Very handy for the Bruce Mason Centre.
The staff are helpful, and the rooms very clean.

Room Tip: I recommend the court yard studios, they are the best. Quiet off the road and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Why advertise a heated pool if you haven't got one. I look for motels that have heated pools so we can swim at the end of the day, timely reminder to always ask if they have what they advertise, although you shouldn't have to.
No milk in fridge - wah!
Office shuts at 7pm so don't try getting milk or wifi after this!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if your needs require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely spot, very close to the beach and so handy for many different types of restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful with motorway assistance. Local knowledge is always the best! The room had all we needed and was very clean.Enjoyed the continental breakfast and the tropical garden setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked one of the "villas" for a week of work/holiday with the family. The villa is quaint, very clean and tidy, and everything you need is provided. 50 metres to the beach, 30 metres to the Takapuna beach cafe and an easy walk to all the shops. Service was friendly, efficient and attentive. Facilities like the pool are getting a little tired, but that didn't effect our family enjoyment at all. We will definitely stay here again in one of the villas.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

great atmosphere and facilities. interesting room layout with the kitchenette, bed and spa bathe all in the same room. Unfortunatelty there was an unpleasant odour in the room each time we return from various activities. having said that it was still a good place to base oneself for restaurants and walks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Only stayed one night but found the room to be clean and comfortable and reasonably well laid out. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Inn is close to the Takapuna shops and the beach. Overall a nice motel like room with cooking facilities and tea and coffee making facilities. The only drawback is that the heating is not sufficient for the size of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emerald Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Inn

Address: 16 The Promenade | Takapuna, Takapuna 1309, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top quality beachside accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. 39 superbly appointed suites and motel units with kitchen facilities nestled amongst sub tropical gardens. Wireless internet, BBQ area, guest laundry, swimming pool and spa. Breakfasts available Mon-Fri. Takapuna, on Auckland's North Shore, is only 10 minutes from the CBD via the Harbour Bridge. The beach is recognized as one of Auckland's finest with safe swimming, sail boat hire and miles of glorious sand for walking or jogging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Takapuna
Emerald Hotel Auckland
Emerald Inn Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.