We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Wedding Anniversary Evening.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Spencer on Byron Hotel to your Saves list
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A perfect Wedding Anniversary Evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were very impressed with the service , from Reception, Restaurant ,Bar staff all very obliging and helpful, and with the room /view on the 19th floor. We did ask for a room with a view on booking , but the view was breathtaking. A good experience and will stay again. Also great to have a good hotel which is not in Auckland central, but in the suburbs.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view, you wont be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hello Cher99 and thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed yourselves and you are right about the view....it is quite stunning.

Happy Anniversary to you both!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    208
    81
    31
    14
See reviews for
88
175
38
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location so close to Takapuna beach shops and great restaurants all in walking distance. We had a one bedroom suite on the 12th floor with 180 degree views of the sea. We really enjoyed our stay as room was great staff excellent and quiet even though we were central to everything. Will definitley be staying there again. Fabulous time away whether it be family romance or friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice hotel, close to Takapuna beach and shopping.Facilities are first class.
the view from our 10th floor room was spectacular.
We had a summer special rate which was very good value.Parking was included in the rate.
The pool and spa pool are very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back again one day soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was not expecting much of this hotel, and booked last minute for one night using wotif. However I found the hotel to be lovely and inviting and staff were extremely helpful. I even got a complimentary late check out to 1pm! Rooms were a great size and bathrooms were big with good lighting. Location is central in Takapuna yet the rooms are quiet. Would definitely recommend and would stay again - especially for the price point.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I needed to be central to friends and family on the North Shore of my home city of Auckland. The Spencer on Byron offered everything and more, given it's fabulous central location close by Takapuna Beach and within an easy safe walk to a variety of shops, restaurants and parks.
The hotel itself is beautifully presented and my room with it's primary view being that of an unimpeeded view of the gulf and Rangitoto, was second to none.
Anton at the main desk was professional yet took an interest in my comfort and went out of his way to help with any of my requests.

Room Tip: Pay the extra fee for the rooms with the view! Seriously folks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Nic H,

Thank you so much for your review, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel, its location and of course that wonderful view!

It was very nice of you to mention one of our staff members Anton, be assured I will be passing this on to him.

We would welcome you back anytime.

Thank you
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed one night on the summer special rate. Great views from 15th floor. The room was well furnished apart from the lounge sofa being quite hard with no cushions. Staff were great. Parking was included in the package and was secure underground. I didn't use the restaurant as there's lots of choice nearby. Leisure facilities were of a good standard. Would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

15 floors up we had a Beautiful clean Room with a great view across the Water. Very Friendly staff that always happy to help with anything, Great Food and good coffee. Takapuna Beach is only a 10min walk and lots of shops to explore.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Robert,

I am so pleased to read that enjoyed your time here at our hotel.

We would love you to come back again some day!

Thank you
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Address: 9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spencer on Byron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.