We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Spencer on Byron Hotel to your Saves list
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 1306, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent service and a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed two nights and had an amazing, relaxing time. The service was great and nothing was a problem. The price was really affordable and breakfast was thrown in as an extra. Close to excellent restaurants, movies, markets and the beach. We can't wait to come back when we get the chance! We have 5 small children so probably won't be any time soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    184
    70
    26
    13
See reviews for
75
153
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely hotel foyer, bar and restaurant, however the rooms do not reflect the standard that is seen on entry and when dining. Lovely views from higher level floors. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired for a 4 star hotel; bed not made properly, toiletries not restocked, breakfast room order form not left in the room!! Internet connection is just too expensive! Restaurant food was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room at a high level (above 10) facing the Auckland harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I travel a lot and i found the Spencer staff excellent and helpful and the views spectacular - especially from the 17th floor - whilst out of the CBD - its 10 minutes by bus (around the corner) I stayed there for 5 weeks and could not fault the staff.

Room Tip: if you are there for a while - choose a weekly or monthly internet - its cheaper !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello Tim and thank you for staying with us for so long! I am so delighted to hear you praise our staff and that you enjoyed the environment, we are very lucky being located in Takapuna close to the lake and the beach! I do hope to see you back here again sometime. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Centrally location on the North Shore. Friendly service. Great views from upper floors of the coast and the Auckland harbour. Good food at the restaurant. Handy off street parking. Lots of nice cafes and restaurants locally. All good so far; but wait. The internet connection for three nights stay was $50 - on top of the room price!!! This is highway robbery when all other hotels that I've stayed in lately have dropped this charge. When I did a review to the hotel, they changed what I had written and published the altered review on their web site. Grrrr.....

Room Tip: Upper floors are quiet at night. Watch out not to bump into an All Black in the lobby or lifts (prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I took a group, Clarks Escapades, to the Spencer on Byron. What a wonderful experience it was.
The hotel Manager Terry Holt was incredibly efficient and helpful from the moment I booked. As you can imagine bringing a group of 25 people had to have lots of organising and every question I had, Terry responded immediately. When our coach arrived the reception staff were very friendly, they had everything organised for our stay. Terry came to greet me and showed me around the hotel, which as an event organiser was wonderful. He explained where we were having dinner and breakfast and even added a surprise, we would be dining with the All Blacks!.
In the restaurant area there was a grand piano and the restaurant manageress had arranged for the pianist to play Happy Birthday to one of our guests who was 92. We also had a couple who were celebrating their wedding anniversary, again they were asked if they had a favourite song the pianist could play. It was a very special evening and a spontaneous one with the staff making sure our every needs were attended to. The Food was excellent too. Rooms were to a high standard, very clean and our trip was a complete success.

Room Tip: It's in a quiet location which is not far from the centre of Takapuna. I think if you request th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I have just read your review and am absolutely delighted that your group enjoyed their stay with us so much. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next group visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed only one night at the end of our holiday & were very impressed with the staff & facilities. Although perhaps just slightly tired in places, the apartment was clean, spacious & light + we had our own balcony with amazing views. The swimming pool spa & gym were great, we only wish we stayed longer & had more time to enjoy them! A short walk to the shops & beach + plenty of food options. Fantastic to have our own kitchen giving us the option to cook if we wanted to (although do be warned the cooking equipment in the kitchen is limited - but still enough to prepare basic meals which is all we needed). Large comfy bed & black out curtains meant we got a great sleep. it is so good to find a hotel that offers the facilities we want within our budget! On a value for money scale this hotel is A1. We will definitely be keen to return on our next trip to Auckland!! :o)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Michelle,

I enjoyed reading your review and was delighted to know that you experienced great value. We aim to please all our guests and whilst we don't always get it perfect, we certainly try too!

I have taken your points on board about the kitchen equipment and I am looking into this.

We would love to have had you stay longer and would welcome you back anytime.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here because I was attending a training course being held in the hotel. It's very convenient and easy to find and the views from the rooms are amazing. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The studio room I had was very clean and comfortable, however for the price I would not expect to have to pay almost $20 per day for internet access. Also filter coffee was part of the minibar items at $4 per packet and $3 for a cookie?! At cheaper accommodation that I've stayed at in New Zealand these things are often free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Address: 9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 1306, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spencer on Byron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.