We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spencer on Byron Hotel Takapuna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Spencer on Byron Hotel to your Saves list
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Penrose, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Spencer on Byron Hotel Takapuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Spencer on Byron. The Room was brilliant - everything I could have needed was there. The view from the romm was great. Check in and Check out was so easy - Thank you Simran. The staff were really friendly and the food was great. I will checking in again on my next visit to NZ.
Philby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer, and I will be passing your comments on to Simran - and she will also receive acknowledgement in our next Employee meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Spencer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    208
    80
    31
    14
See reviews for
88
175
38
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have stayed here 4 times now and every time has been awesome. The staff are friendly and the check in and out are very fast. The rooms and facilities are amazing and it is a lovely place to stay. With free car parking under the building this is a bonus. The pool is lovely and huge with great views and the gym also has everything you need. The hotel is always very clean and i have recommended this hotel to my family when they come to Auckland. Will definately be back to stay again :-) suites are the best as they have a big living area and kitchen. No matter what room you get you will have an amazing experience. Madeline

Room Tip: suites are the best as they have a big living area and kitchen. No matter what room you get you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent a Saturday night here recently and couldn't have been more impressed from the friendly reception to the fast and efficient check out. The room on the 16th floor was great with a full kitchen, lounge and separate bedroom with king size bed and ensuite. The view was amazing too. Had dinner at Thyme Restaurant and were very impressed with the food and service. Will certainly be going back on another occasion.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethells Beach Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just spent a wonderful weekend at Spencer on Byron for the occasion of my sons wedding. The hotel was very helpful in providing accommodation at a discounted rate for our guests. Free underground car parking very useful. To allow for the boys pre wedding photos the Hotel was extremely obliging in allowing us an early check in. We requested a suite with sea views and was really impressed to be on the 19th floor with an absolutely stunning view. The breakfast the next day was excellent with a good selection. We requested a table to be set up for a group and this was done with no problems. I appreciated the complimentary cookies and have to say the toiletries have a lovely fragrance. The late check out on Sunday was much appreciated after a very busy weekend. We will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Firstly, Congratulations to your Son and Daughter-in-law! Thank you for your wonderful review, it is great to hear that you all had a great weekend, and hope we can welcome you back to The Spencer in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilrijk, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, with a good and friendly service. The fact of having a laundry machine and dryer makes it easy for a longer stay. The rooms are quite large, with different rooms and a small kitchen.
Dinner in the restaurant is very good quality, but pricing wise it is quite expensive, so I'd prefer to go out for dinner. In the neighbourhood there are some good restaurants too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we hope if you return to NZ to welcome you back to The Spencer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed one night in a twin suite. Prompt and high level of attention from booking, to reception. Staf were very welcoming and helpful. Room quality was good. Clean, tidy. Well appointed. Exceptionally good value. I will most definately stay again.

Room Tip: Not sure. Staed on 10thfloor.saturday nigght. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Spencer again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a terrable hotel.I'll certainly be looking for another option on the North Shore.Unhelpful staff when trying to get a newspaper.No free wifi,this is 2013 not 2003.Rather stay in a local motel with free wifi,newspapers and friendly staff at half the price.Wont be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Spencer - I am shocked and saddened to read of your disappointing stay, and would be keen to find out more, so that I can speak to the staff involved. If you have a moment, and are happy to do so, I would really appreciate you contacting me. Debbie Barnett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Address: 9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spencer on Byron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.