We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an Auckland weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Spencer on Byron Hotel to your Saves list
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect for an Auckland weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had a great stay at the Spencer on Byron Hotel in a very comfortable 1 bedroom suite with a great view of the harbour. Takapuna has so much to offer within walking distance of the hotel: the beach, great shopping and top cafes and restaurants making this an ideal place to stay.

Check in and Check out was friendly and hassle free, and the Buffet Breakfast at the restaurant offered a great range of options that were constantly being freshened up by the staff.

Would absolutely recommend to anyone considering something as an alternative to staying in the City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Spencer, and we hope you have an opportunity to stay again soon to enjoy our Hotel and Takapuna's array of offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    208
    80
    31
    14
See reviews for
88
175
38
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed there just the night this last weekend. We had an event in Devonport and was only down the road, very accessible to get to. Front desk was welcoming. Room was as described. Had a roll away bed for our daughter. Very big and comfortable and best roll away i have seen. Two TV's in suite which was handy as Dad could watch rugby whilst 3 yr old watched Toy Story. Spacious with kitchen facilities and going for the suite over the studio is a must.
We also had a very nice breakfast which was well catered for variety wise and kept fresh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really do appreciate it, and it is lovely to hear you had a good stay. We hope you will be able to stay again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just spent a night there and very comfortable and easy stay - would recommend as rates were excellent for a 1-bedroom suite and rollaway for our toddler. Breakfast very good and more than enough food. Onsite parking which was easily accessed. Had no problems.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on 13th floor (1307) however was a stormy night so you could hear the wind sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we hope we can welcome you back to The Spencer in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Check in and check out staff are simply human processors

No courtesy what so ever

A simple how are u tonight?
Was ur stay comfortable?

Had a mates function just down the road otherwise definitely staying in the city as usual.


P.S. took Vallet 25 minutes to bring my car up.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments - when you have a moment, could you please make contact with us to discuss this very uncommon experience. Debbie Barnett, 09 916 4972.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This Hotel was obviously undergoing some sort of repairs during the evening which sounded like a very noisy dentist surgery. Checkout was difficult because the Hotel offered a free breakfast special there appeared to be no coordination between the Hotel the restaurant and the duty Manager/front of house staff who wanted to charge us for the breakfast. In the end after patiently waiting for the duty manager to pacify others checking out we walked out

Havent heard yet the outcome which says a lot for their customer service. Everything else was fine and the rooms were nice

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th Floor and it sounded like the jackhammers may have been on the 14th so I sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

this is my second time staying at this hotel. Good facilities and good service as last time. Nice view from the room! The price is very good too. The only problem is in the bedroom, the TV only has one channel, and there is a queen size bed rather than king size bed which is a bit small for 2 people I think.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thanks for your review, we'll get straight on to why the TV was not working correctly. We hope you come and stay with us again, and when making your next reservation, ask our reservation team to book you a King size bed, as we have all configurations available, from Twins, Queens and Kings (dependent upon our occupancy).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment last weekend. We couldn't fault anything. Fantastic view, spotlessly clean, warm, comfy bed - everything perfect.
We will be back.
Mata and Kathy Nooroa

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Spencer on your next visit to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Address: 9 - 17 Byron Ave | Takapuna - Auckland, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spencer on Byron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.