We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fantastic evening - good italian food, genuine service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Forno

Al Forno
34 Anzac Street | Takapuna, Takapuna, New Zealand
(09) 488 0179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Takapuna
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Had a fantastic evening - good italian food, genuine service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After Clooney (don't go) we went to Al Forno a week later, as the reviews seemed all great and we wanted a bit of 'nice and genuine normality'. We got all this and more. Nice veal, (delicious Mediterranean flavours) good wines, excellent deserts and stories from the Italian waiter, ma ma mia! Just go, not pretentious, just enjoy yourself, it's not complicated, just simply good. And the price is right! Relax.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Will try pizza next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I ordered linguini for dinner, however, the sea food was not that fresh. The sauce was nice though. My colleague ordered beef and he said it was good. Will try pizza next time. Seems that they're famous for their "woodfire oven pizza"!
点了海鲜面,酱汁浓郁,但是当晚的海鲜不是最新鲜。同事点了牛排,说是不错。下次想尝试一下Pizza!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We have gone to Al Forno a number of times over the last few years. The food and service are always superb. It is always busy - a sure sign of an excellent restaurant. The veal is a personal favourite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best Italian restaurant in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The service at this amazing gem of a restaurant is excellent, it is one the friendliest environments that we have ever encountered. The quality of the food is quite exceptional.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best Italian food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited Al Forno on a busy Saturday night and had the best ever Italian food! As noted by other reviewers, quality food served by a great team. I'd recommend making a booking to be sure of a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.