We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fresh food, beautifully presented” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyo-Ya Japanese Restaurant

Kyo-Ya Japanese Restaurant
426 Lake Road, Takapuna, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 42 Restaurants in Takapuna
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, beautifully presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place is a favourite of my wife and one of her friends, but this was my first visit. I can now see why they like it so much! Not an over-decorated theme restaurant, but a nice casual Japanese experience where the food is fresh and perfectly cooked. Presentation is something special too. The sushi and sashimi were like they were just caught and wonderful quality. Perhaps the only blemish is a very ordinary, commercial wine-list. Food like this deserves better and there are plenty of small artisan NZ wineries who would love to have their wines on show here

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had the most wonderful lunch at this restaurant. Having not visited for a while, we had forgotten just how good it is!

My tempura was perfectly crisp and not too oily, and my husbands tonkatsu was very tender and well cooked. The dishes are very authentic, well balanced, on par with mid-range restaurants in Japan.

This restaurant is in the top 5 Japanese restaurants in Auckland, and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Sushi was good. Menu was very basic and simple. I thought prices were high. Presentation and fish were good, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have eaten their before n enjoyed our meal. We decided to do a takeout to take to the beach. The chicken don was terribly. Both meals has greasy chicken no sauce cold misu n then because it was dinner the price nearly doubled,overpriced with most if meal going to the birds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Small Japanese restaurant in Takapuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Kyo-Ya is a very popular small Japanese restaurant in Takapuna on Auckland's North Shore. Delicious freshly cooked meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyo-Ya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kyo-Ya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyo-Ya Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.