We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinot Plus

Pinot Plus
168 Hurstmere Road, Takapuna, New Zealand
09-489-9510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Takapuna
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

First time to this restaurant and really enjoyed the food, friendly atmosphere with excellent wine recommendations. If you're looking for a quality dinner and a cosy venue, this is the place. Will go back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Far too many compliments to give”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Food. Well the cuisine is varied, brilliantly prepared by the chef, well presented and delivered by the the wait staff and tasted glorious, meeting the wonderful expectations created by the aromas derived from the herbs, spices and garnished accompanying each dish.

Mine Host is an excellent sommelier with a range of wines to match the chefs menu and his personal knowledge of wines - Sheer brilliance. I must admit I did upset him by drink glorious reds with fish - yet they went beautifully together. As any astounding meal and well made wine will.

When in Takapuna this is a MUST try restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good in parts.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A really warm welcome by the owner. We were here to celebrate a birthday and the atmosphere was just right for the occasion.
If you want a 'wine experience' with your meal, then this is a novel way of entertaining when eating out. It was nice to try the wine beforehand but unfortunately we were disappointed with the quantity of the food ordered.
All very tasty but really short on the amounts per dish. One was Duck, very over cooked. , and the menu said ' with Continental potatoes'. Two small new potatoes accompanied the meal?
So, if you are prepared for small meals and you have a big pocket, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

There were 3 of us and we all really enjoyed the dishes that we chose. The really unique thing about this small restaurant/wine bar is that you are given the opportunity to taste from 3 bottles of the type of wine that you want and then order a bottle - or a glass - of the wine that you prefer out of the three that you taste - a great system.
John Ingles has been in the restaurant business for a long time and he is an excellent host and restaurateur. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you like wine, and like to taste wine, this is the place to come. There are wine flights to do parallel tastings of a particular variety, or you can sample various wines until you find one you want a big glass of. John, the owner is a wine buff (he was a sommelier for many years), and has some great bottles available, and is happy to talk through them with you. The food is really nice - a small menu, but everything is beautifully cooked. I love coming here just for a relaxing drink. Bookings essential at weekends, there are only about 8 tables. I actually don't want to recommend it, as I don't want everyone to come and crowd it out!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinot Plus also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to Pinot Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinot Plus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.