We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice friendly Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Takapuna Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Takapuna Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Takapuna Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   28 Tahoroto Road, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Ayrshire,scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“nice friendly Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night when i first arrived i wasnt sure as looked as thought no-one was there, however when we checked in people were very friendly and happy to help with everything. The lady showed us to our room and there was a folder with all the local eating places,pubs etc. It was self catering and had supplied everything we needed. The rooms,kitchen and bathroom were clean and looked like the owners take along of pride in there motor lodge.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at this motel over the Xmas period. We didn't know what to expect on arrival but were very quickly pleasantly surprised. The staff were fantastic and really went out of their way to accommodate our needs (2 adults and 5 children). Our children loved the pool and spa and we all enjoyed a good night's sleep on the comfortable beds. We loved our stay here and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had to visit Auckland in a hurry due to a family bereavement, this place was the closest to the hospital where our loved one spent her last days. It was quite a dissapointment to find that is was outdated and not very attractive. The pool was covered so we could not swim and the spa pool water very murky so we did not want to take the risk of using it. Very over priced for the facilities, the T.V was small and approx 15 years old, have not seen one like that in a hotel/motel for years.It was not a joy to return to after being in a hospital for most of the day.

Room Tip: If you do stay here make sure you get a room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
440 reviews 440 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed during RWC, very helpfull staff, clean comfy room, place is easy walk to resaurants in Takapuna, good parking.

Room Tip: Away from road towards back of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Good location and a very nice boutique hotel. Rooms were a good size and good amenities. Breakfast included. Restaurant and the room service were both very good and no extra charge for room service.
Free WiFi. Good views over the Auckland Harbour and good parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

In brief, our short stay at Takapuna motor lodge wasn’t a pleasant one, for $160 a night I would have thought we would get a shower that had water pressure, our 20 inch TV looked like it was 20 years old, the room was serviced every day but dishes in the sink were never washed.
On the positive side the room looked to have recently been repainted and our bed was very comfortable
Upon checking out matters turned sour, unfortunately I had to check out outside office hours as we were leaving early the next morning I did apologize for this but was met with a very rude and unprofessional response from the proprietor words were exchanged I was then told to p…s off.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed at the Takapuna Motor Lodge for just one night on our journey around North Island. It is clean, quiet and convenient with a small kitchenette and laundry facilities are available on site. The best thing was the nice, friendly receptionist, but somehow, the place lacked atmosphere and was just functional. Ideal for business but not for something special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Takapuna Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takapuna Motor Lodge

Address: 28 Tahoroto Road, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Takapuna Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes to Takapuna Beach and 10 minutes to Auckland CBD. Here on business, the weekend or if you need long term accommodation, choose from our studio or 1,2 and 3 bedroom units all with full cooking facilities. 'Unwind in our tropical pool area or live it up in the vibrant Takapuna Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Takapuna Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takapuna Motor Lodge Auckland, North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takapuna Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.