We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireweed Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireweed Hostel
Save
You added Fireweed Hostel to your Saves list
313 Stephen Avenue, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I didn't travel very far, just having come out from Calgary, but wanted to treat myself to a night away in order to go skiing. I figured on a day before Christmas, I'd still find something reasonable and not too crowded. Well, for $30 I booked a bed in a shared room, but it turns out that I was the only person staying there that night. So, I had the full main floor (living room with wood-burning fireplace, dining area, and fully stocked kitchen) all to myself, and enjoyed a great night's sleep. The hostel is really quaint, has lots of decorations, local resources, and is impeccably clean. Just out the backside is a skating rink where people (including Santa) played hockey. Loved it! I'll definitely be back, but will aim to visit during quieter times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group, two couples and we were`nt disappointed. The Hostel itself has a ground floor self catering two bedroom apartment which is separate from the rest of the facility which we stayed in. What more can I say than that. There is a BBQ and Fire pit in which to use. The place was clean and well maintained. The town of Field is very small, there is a pub and a restaurant/shop. if you are staying here for a dew days stock up with food and beers before you get here, as choices are small.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom self catering unit is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This small hostel is a definite step up from an inner-city hostel. It is cozy, with a great shared kitchen, clean facilities and mostly comfy beds. I personally loved watching the trains go by while eating breakfast on the balcony. Field is a tiny village, so pack accordingly, dress warmly for the mountains, and enjoy the view from the Fireweed. If you want first class valet service, expansive rooms, and to be called "sir", this hostel isn't for you. But if you enjoy the outdoors, meeting other people, and face life with a smile, then book here.

Pros: free wifi for guests, helpful summer-student staff who are passionate about the outdoors, warm down duvets in rooms.
Cons: sound-proofing between rooms isn't great, non-padded Ikea chairs in dining room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is perfect to visit the Canadian Rockies. It is very close to Lake Louise and Yoho park. Field is a nice little town. The flat on the ground floor is great for a family and very clean. The garden has stunning views of the mountains. If you like trains, you'll be fascinated. The Field train station is litteraly in the back of your garden and you'll be able to see all the trans-Canada rail traffic and wave at passagers of the Rocky Mountainer. The host was very welcoming and gave us a discount to apologize for the unusual noise in the hotel that night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in this hostel during our three-week-trip in Canadian Rockies in October 2011. Originally we were going to tent in a nearby campsite but luckily it was closed so we were made to stay in this hostel! We were going to stay just for one night but Craig (the owner) made us a good deal on price so we decided to stay for a couple of nights instead (thanks for that as the second night the temperature dropped below zero!). There were only a few other people in the hostel at the time of our stay so we had a room with 6 beds just for us two :) Craig was also very helpful with tips for hiking and we did probably our best hikes during our Canadian trip there!
The hostel is very clean and beds extremely comfy. There is a well equipped kitchen and a nice common room with a fire place and lots of books and board games. There are only one or two restaurants and a tiny shop in Field so make sure you bring enough food with you! There were lots of condiments in the fridge though so do not worry if you forget some bits.
As some other reviewers mentioned the hostel was right by a train station but we did not mind the noise at all. We were quite tired from our hikes and also the train whistle was accompanying us all the way through the Rockies so we actually missed it when we finally got back home!
We are planning another trip to Canada soon and Fireweed Hostel is definitely one of the places we want to visit again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed for just one night and it was great. The common room and the patio had a nice view, with minimal highway noise. The bathrooms were oddly planned (seperate for toilet and shower). The night life is nonexistant, the bar across the street closes at around 6pm. The fridge also had lots of condiments and the rooms were quiet and clean. It is right next to the train tracks, the 3am train is a little noisy. Other than those (really trivial) problems, it is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: the burgess room, is the closest to the tracks. Won't choose that one next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I made a last minute decision to drive through Revelstoke and continue up to Yoho National Park, and I'm glad that I did; scoring the last available bed in a 4 bed dorm. After I was given a tour of the hostel I immediately booked an second night.

The kitchen / dining / lounge were all immaculate with modern amenities. The bathrooms & showers were the best part being private and spotlessly clean. The host (Chris) was very nice and gave great advice on hikes and things to do in the area, listing out a number of options for the day and suggesting what might be the best with the time I had available. I was also warned over the phone when booking that there wasn't much in the way of shops in the area so fortunately I came well stocked with food.

The space between beds is a tad small and as noted you do get a bit of train noise during the night. But staying in this hostel was the most relaxed I felt in Canada and not really an issue at all. They also charged me a lower rate than what was on their website ($30 p/n, vs $40 advertised). In all honesty I would have paid double that without batting an eyelid.

Would highly recommend it - a beautiful hostel in a beautiful national park. A little bit of train noise every now and then is hardly an issue. It's still significantly quieter than any other hostel I stayed in, in Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireweed Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireweed Hostel

Address: 313 Stephen Avenue, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style hostel, new in February 2007. High quality accommodation in the Canadian Rockies, hostel is located in the town of Field, Yoho National Park and has is central to the four national mountain parks, Banff, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho. Close to amazing sights and year round activities and has direct access to many classic hikes (including the Burgess Shale fossil beds) and cross-country ski trails. Private and shared accommodation, living room with wood burning fireplace, self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireweed Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.