We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I'd stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cathedral Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peoria Il
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wish I'd stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Wow, what a view of Mt. Stephen in the morning or evening. You can see the CPR trains from nicely maintained chairs along the beach. We stayed two nights and loved the cabins, (and the morning breakfast). Our cabin was a duplex, with a clean, modern bathroom, in a cabin setting. Lodging includes breakfast which was delicious. The lodge serves dinner, which was very good, but is a bit limited in variety. You do park pretty far from your cabin, which can mean a long haul of your luggage to your door. I suspect they would provide assistance with your luggage, if you ask for it. However, with no cars next to your cabin, it added to the feel of seclusion and serenity. We had a problem with the little cast iron stove not working, so the manager moved us next door, which was an acceptable solution. You are close to Lake Louise, Moraine Lake & Takkakaw Falls, so there are ample opportunities for hiking. It was so relaxing that I wish we'd planned to stay a couple more nights here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    40
    18
    4
See reviews for
60
217
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Fantastic log cabins on a small site with superb restaurant. Cabins very cosy and comfy with lots of charm. Bathrooms great with good size bath for soaking after long day's hiking. Food in restaurant not cheap but beautiful and consistent with prices in other restaurants of similar quality - complimentary breakfast absolutely superb. You have to have breakfast there as no real facilities close by. Nearby town of Field is a small one with one or two places to eat. Hotel is close to good walking and a reasonable drive from places like Lake Louise etc but good walking nearby. Only draw back is that train hooter can be heard occasionally from the Kicking Horse Spiral Tunnels track.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Cathedral Mountain Lodge as we visited the Lake Louise and Banff area. We were fortunate to have a cabin the faced the river and little foot traffic around us. The cabin was cozy and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious! I loved spending time relaxing on the front porch with a great book and a glass of wine. The lodge is close to a highway, however the traffic noise never bothered us. The staff at Cathedral Mountain Lodge was friendly and helpful. The lodge has a loving eating area. Breakfasts were delicious and the dinner we had there was fabulous. It would be nice to have a grille/pub type of resturant close by for other meals. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed at Cathedral Mountain Lodge for 3 nights so we could explore the Yoho National Park area. The lodge is centrally located for exploring and really couldn't have been nicer. We were surprised on how close it was to the Lake Louise area and had we known we may have stayed there longer. We paid essentially the same price at Lake Louise at the Paradise Lodge and Bungalows and, although it was nice there, it didn't match up to the cabin we had at Cathedral. The breakfast that was provided was excellent and was really appreciated so that we could get started on our activities for the day without trying to find somewhere to eat. We found that to be a challenge in this area. We stayed in a deluxe queen mountain view cabin and it was the best. It was beautifully decorated--and the furnishings were comfortable and casual. We used the fireplace every night and it warmed up the cabin comfortably. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We really appreciated the extra little touches provided each day by the maid staff -- a card with the forecast for the next day left on the bed and the wood and kindling ready for a match each night. The management also gave a gift of a wonderful hiking guide book (Don't Waste Your Time in the Canadian Rockies) upon arrival that was extremely useful in choosing places to visit. If price is deterring you, look for internet specials, we had a 3 night special for $280 CAN a night , much different than what was quoted on the phone. All in all--it was a beautiful place with spectacular scenery and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

There is a lot to like about Cathedral Mountain Lodge: beautiful location in the heart of Yoho National Park, eager-to-please young staff, absolutely terrific food and gorgeous interior design. However there are a few things to note and some improvements to be made. It seems that the lodge targets couples--no cribs or pull outs available (we were traveling with a 7 month old). That would be OK--if their customer demographic supported that. While we were there for 4 days I saw at least 3 other babies/toddlers in the dining room. So I guess they just sucked it up like we did and made do. It seems to me that for this price tag having a crib or 2 on hand would be expected as part of customer service. Then there were some strange things, like the multigenerational family that asked the waitress at breakfast if they could put 2 tables together--she answered "No, but you can sit at 2 tables next to each other..." Strange. I can not imagine why this was the directive? And then there was the poor man who arrived at 9PM from Whistler (when we did--we had a reservation) and asked to be seated at dinner. After he raised a stink he got served. The issue is that there isn't any kind of restaurant close by. I think he realized this and was really freaked out. Who could blame him? Especially when 2 other parties were just being seated? Which brings me to the idea that in this area it would be a good thing to have coffee, tea, water & sandwiches (or something) available for guests outside of set meal times--FYI it would be a moneymaker--people will pay for service in remote areas! And then there is the connectivity issue...I don't mind no TV or phone, but dial up internet? I understand that this is also the situation for the hotel business, but surely something can be done? And then when my stepson asked to use the dial up he overheard the back room person instruct the front desk clerk to "Tell him it doesn't work." That didn't sit too well with me--honesty is best people. Last but not least is the lack of a separate lodge room from the dining room. It's OK if days are fine and everybody is out hiking, but when the weather gets cold or rainy (Canadian Rockies in the summer--Hello?) it gets kind of packed. Not to mention the fact that there is no fireplace lit after breakfast...again, that would be a good thing to do on a gloomy day. I wanted to love this place, and I appreciate the comments of others here--TripAdvisor is why we came here. It just seemed that for every terrific thing there was something sort of strange or off-putting that happened every day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This is the sister lodge to Moraine Lake - you need to try both!
This is a beautiful place to stay for some luxury in one of the best hiking areas in the world. The bungalow rooms are wonderful and the lodge itself is fantastic. The food, cooked by Chef James is even better then Moraine Lake's food - and that is excellent!
Great walks surround the area, although some of them aren't open until late June.
The staff are excellent.
Highly recommended++++

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I would highly recommend the Cathedral Mountain Lodge. Despite mixed reviews I definitely glad I did. The main complaint seems to be the location and 'noise' of passing highway traffic and the train. I didn't hear any traffic although yes you do hear the train passing by but only when it blows its whistle and this only happens when there are bears on the track. The bears come down to eat the corn that the cargo train drops. I personally would prefer to be inconvenienced by the sound of a few horns through the night than seeing a dead bear on the track the next morning! Surely part of the aim of visiting the Canadian Rockies and National Parks is to experience the wildlife .The location of the lodge is just off the highway but far enough to make a peaceful setting. When we arrived Elks were watering in the stream.
I read several other reviews of lodges in the area and i can say that most were on the highway themselves or are on the daily bus tour route including the sister hotel at Lake Moraine.
The cabins were very comfortable and were exactly as advertised. Breakfast was adequate to start the day and all the staff were very professional and accommodating.
The overall location was excellent to explore the area and was easy to access.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.