We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cathedral Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were disappointed by Cathedral Mountain Lodge. However, having looked around some of the other options with a future stay in mind, I still think it is one of the best options in the area. The lodges are really quite close together and there is no sense of privacy. The lodges themselves are very clean and nicely decorated. The bath was really quite small but what astounded us most was the lack of storage space. We were there for 6 nights and were on a long trip so we had a lot of luggage. There was nowhere to unpack or store suitcases. It was really quite inconvenient for a long stay. Also I didn't find the place particularly relaxing - as you wouldn't really want to sit out on your balcony given the proximity of the other cabins and there were only a couple of chairs by the river. The seats outside the main lodge always seemed too dirty to sit on. Most days we made it to breakfast very early so didn't have a problem but on the two occasions we arrived later (but by no means late), they had run out of various things. There is also no wifi and the communal computer is a dial-up connection. In my opinion, I think this place is best suited to a brief stay of maybe one or two nights.

I would go back but only because the hiking was so outstanding that it more than made up for any negatives of the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Cathedral Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and comments on Trip Advisor! Feedback and suggestions from our guests are integral to our efforts in improving the experience we offer and we continuously utilize this information in our ongoing development plan.

We are happy to hear you consider us to be one of the best options in our area. Sorry to hear you did not have enough storage space for your extended stay with us. Typically for an extended stay we will recommend our Premier Cabin room type. Our Premier, “stand-alone”, log cabins offer more living space including an expanded living area with sofa and armchair adjacent to a river-rock wood-burning fireplace, additionally they contain a large armoire and storage chest. If you decide to return with us I hope we can find accommodation that better suits your needs.

Our breakfast team works hard to keep the food on the buffet fresh and fully stocked. As the buffet is self-service we do experience waves of guests, which can lead to depletion. I am sorry that we were not ready for you on those two mornings you arrived a little later and hope our team worked to resole this expediently.

Unfortunately high-speed internet is still not available in our remote location. In the future we are hoping an improved broadband might allow us the opportunity to provide a wireless connection, but this is still a challenge and a dial-up internet station the most reliable service we are able to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    33
    15
    3
See reviews for
51
186
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012. we felt welcomed and were escorted via a buggy to our lodge promptly and given a run down of where things were and timings for meals etc. The layout is lovely and there are wild grasses and flowers along the pathways and between the lodges which give a natural feel to the place.
The lodge itself was clean and cosy and nicely decorated. the veranda was great, neighbours were quiet, I can imagine that this could be a bit of a problem if they weren't! It is all a bit close particularly if you have a semi detatched lodge.
There is a lovely area down by the Kicking Horse River with seating to relax on, lovely views and so peaceful.
We ate in the restaurant on two nights and the food was excellent as was the service and atmosphere. we particularly enjoyed the "Butchers block"
The complimentary breakfast was superb and well presented. Other reviewers have mentioned railway noise, yes there is the ocaisional atmospheric whistle, this is Canada after all and I loved the sound, it was not at all disturbing.I would highly recommend the Cathedral Mountain Lodge and you will also see plenty of wild life around the lodge environs as well.

Room Tip: Have a detached lodge if you go in high season as I can imagine you will be aware of the neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just outside Field ( small village of 250 people) the Lodge is situated in quiet surroundings, but rather isolated. You will need your car to visit the nice attractions in the surroundings.
The private lodge we stayed in comprised of sitting area , queen size bed and a nice bathroom.
There is just a small wardrobe. Airco and fireplace make this lodge comfortable.
No cellular telephone ( you have to drive to Golden-40 km.) and no internet. Staff very friendly and professional. This is a relaxed and luxury place to stay and to enjoy the scenic highlights nearby.
In the restaurant one can enjoy a buffet-breakfast which is quite simple.
It was a pity that the grass and the green between the cabins was unkept.
A nice gesture was the free canoe-rental for one hour at Moraine Lake, but as the rain was pouring down we did not make use of this free offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in September. The room was great, staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a fairly remote location and field town was only small. Luckily the hotel restaurant was great, fairly priced and a great atmosphere. Free afternoon coffee and cookies were a nice treat as was the free breakfast.

Probably the nicest hotel we stayed in 3 weeks in the Rockies

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tucked away just a couple of kilometres off the Trans-Canada highway, this is an ideal mountain lodge in quiet setting of the Canadian Rockies. Gorgeous cabins with fireplaces and an outstanding restaurant make this a great weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Choice of wood burning or electric fireplace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After my last stay in the sister lodge (Moraine Lake Lodge), I have decided to try the Cathedral Mountain Lodge.
Plus:
+ Quite
+ Nice Cabins
+ Good restaurant
+ Friendly staff

Minus
- No cellular network (but it can be a plus if you want, just like me, to disconnect from work)
- No internet (same as above)
- Road and Train noise might be a bit disturbing if you are sensitive to that kind of noise

Overall, 5 nights in this hotel, 6 days of great pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 2 nights in cabin number 9. Very well presented with lovely artifacts in the room and mock real fireplace to keep us warm. Only negatives being noise from the railway and the road close by. Complimentary breakfast was good and they could have easily charged for this. We didn't miss a TV or WIFI- it was nice to get away from it all. Lots of things to do nearby-we did the "walk in the past" to the abandoned train and numerous trails all close to the lodge. Recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.