We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay by the river!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cathedral Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stay by the river!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was to be our Canadian Rockies trip's big finish after Canmore and Jasper but unfortunately we were a little disappointed... If you are looking at the hotel's website you'll be left with the impression that this property is in the middle of an undeveloped expanse of nature. Not true. It is very conveniently located off the main artery that will take you to points east and west, like Lake Louise and Field. The property is a very densely built collection of cabins that offer very little in the way of scenic views - unless you are on the river! Our kids and their kids - four of them - stayed in the accommodations there. Beautiful view, wonderful rushing water sound - you'd never know you were so close to the highway. Our accommodations on the other hand - after changing rooms - had a view of the cabins in front of us (instead of the original view of the back door of the kitchen and parking lot). Something else to keep in mind is that while the cabins are all outfitted very nicely, they are ALL very small. The quarters are quite tight no matter the accommodation level. The lodge is very nice with a lovely view and also not as large as depicted on the website - the power of a good camera lens! All that said, Cathedral Mountain itself is awesome and to sleep five nights under its looming presence was somehow very comforting, the people at the Lodge tried to be helpful, and the food there was quite good.

Room Tip: The rooms are small so consider how much space you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    96
    39
    17
    4
See reviews for
60
215
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a stunningly beautiful place to stay. The property is surrounded on three sides by steep mountains which get bathed in sunlight, while the lodge and cabins are cool in the forest below. There are both "duplex" cabins, and individual cabins. Privacy was no issue. The cabins are nicely appointed and many have nice wood burning fireplaces. They have attended nicely to the decor of these places. One weakness is that there are no TV's in the rooms, phones and no wifi. The dining room is post and beam, beautifully decorated, and walls of windows. Make sure to take the time to enjoy afternoon tea, and complimentary s'mores by the fire in the evening. We found breakfast to be very satisfying, and dinner in the evening was pricey, but very good - and compared to the nearby restaurants, right in line. Don't pass it up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Each small cabin is actually half of a duplex but we didn't hear noise from the other side, so it probably was insulated well. Very clean and obviously much thought went into the furnishings. We had a dorm frig, coffee maker, and tea kettle. So it is possible to buy a picnic sandwich at the Siding in Field and store it safely for the next day. I don't know why people have negative comments about the complimentary breakfast, as it is identical to the buffet breakfasts in other hotels (warm eggs and sausage), fruit, cereal, yougart, fantastic pastries. They didn't run out of anything and everything seemed fresh. The only annoyance was the person ahead of us that held up a line of people picking out her favorite fruit from the fruit salad. We had dinner at the Lodge the first night, which was a bit pricey but worth it as we had been eating pretty lean the previous 4 days. The only drawback was that you could hear some street noise from the main road and the occasional train. But this did not seem constant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

A hidden jewel just north of Lake Louise.

Nestled amongst the trees beneath Cathedral Mountain, this is a perfect hideaway in the national park.

If you are looking for excellent service, privacy and being as close to nature as possible, this is it. From the deck overlooking the river and mountains, with its own fireplace, to the intimate cabins which are meticulously fitted out - most of the furniture is made of tree branches, including the bed!

My wife and I stayed for one night after 4days of exploring and hiking around Jasper and the Icefield Parkway.

May not be for everyone as Lake Louise is about 10 - 15 minutes drive away, and they are closed after October as their road is not accessible due to snow.

Saying that, would tell anyone who is willing to listen about this place. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Generally the Premiere Cabin with Loft had nice furnitures and we had an open fireplace which was very romantic. The location is perfect - very close to the river and not far away to the water fall and to Emerald Lake. The price performance ratio was really not good - too expensive! The breakfast was very poor for an hotel which would provide an high level to their guests. We had not really much selections on the buffet! The bed looked clean but the smell of the pillow was really bad and awful. They should buy new pillow because this is really necessary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for superb lodging and dining in the Banff National Park area, avoid the crowds of Lake Louise and travel a short 30-minute drive west to the Cathedral Mountain Lodge. Premium lof cabin accommodations on the banks of the Kicking Horse River. Fireplaces, beautifully furnished and finished, the cabins and grounds offer a private retreat from tourists and civilization. Highly recommended and be sure to take in dinner at the main lodge. Local meats, fish and vegetables prepared stylishly and flavorfully.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We returned to lodge for a 3 night stay. We were welcomed and informed of the improvements the lodge had made since our last visit. On the first night we had a pleasant dinner in the lodge and then started to notice details that we found disappointing based on the calibre of the lodge (or what it should be). The first night we lost power 3 times. Never was an explanation or apology issued by the staff. Fortunately we had headlamps, as the cabins are not equipped with flashlights. We were told that the breakfast buffet had greatly improved and the chef, when inspired, had even started making crepes. Well, in our three breakfasts, we never saw a crepe. As well, despite a claim on their dinner menu to be organic and local, both the breakfast and afternoon tea consisted of primarily processed foods (packaged cereals, store bought cookies, pastries, frozen bread, etc.) rather than whole foods. Fair trade/organic coffee and teas, homemade granola, homemade baked goods, farm fresh eggs, garnishes for the scrambled eggs and local meats would be greatly welcomed. You know there are issues with the menu when guests are bringing in their own food to supplement what is offered. Considering the active population that stays at the lodge, providing healthy whole foods should be a priority for all food offereings. Additionally, for all the guests they offer a 2 slot toaster creating a predictable back-up every morning at the buffet table - who is going to have frozen bread with their scrambled eggs? The other issue was the staff seemed to have issues keeping the buffet table stocked with staple items, requiring guests to wait or ask for more (i.e. bread, cookies, tea, etc.). The other issue we found in bad taste was to be charging for various items such as specialty coffees and smores - if you are charging people over $300/night this should be part of what is included in that cost. Finally, age is starting to show on the cabins and attention to upgrades and details needs to occur if this lodge is going to continue to charge the same rates. Our cabin had broken sliding door catches, burn marked furniture, furniture that was starting to wear and frayed towels.

We are not sure if what we experienced was due to a busy summer and burnt out staff or a lack of attention to details. Either way, hopefully the lodge takes feedback to heart if they want to continue to attract return guests and to advertise themselves as a high calibre mountain lodge.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight in the event of power outages. Hope you get a cabin away from the parking lot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapilanoGroup, Manager at Cathedral Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again and posting your review. Comments and suggestions from guests are essential in our continuing efforts to improve the experience we provide at Cathedral Mountain Lodge.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed you dinner in our Riverside Dining Room, but disappointed you were not satisfied by the complimentary breakfast buffet or afternoon tea services we offer. We use fresh local ingredients whenever possible and receive a significant portion of our produce from a small private farm in the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia. Our breakfast buffet is simpler than our full evening service, but we do feature an organic and house-made granola, fresh seasonal fruit (this past week featured BC blueberries), organic Greek yoghurt, and a selection of pastries baked fresh each morning. I am sorry you missed Chef’s crepes. I hope when you return they will be available.

One of our realities, being completely off the grid, is generating our own power. This past week we experienced some difficulties with a new generator. These difficulties have now been resolved and power outages should not happen again. Thank you for your suggestion of flashlights; each year we try and improve on the previous season and will do our best to meet your needs in the years to come.

We believe our guests are the best source of information for continual improvement; we welcome the opportunity to understand and learn from your experience. Should you have additional information you care to share with us, or additional suggestions, please feel to contact me personally at any time.

James Hague
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.