We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenitic luxury beneath Cathedral Mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cathedral Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authenitic luxury beneath Cathedral Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

A hidden jewel just north of Lake Louise.

Nestled amongst the trees beneath Cathedral Mountain, this is a perfect hideaway in the national park.

If you are looking for excellent service, privacy and being as close to nature as possible, this is it. From the deck overlooking the river and mountains, with its own fireplace, to the intimate cabins which are meticulously fitted out - most of the furniture is made of tree branches, including the bed!

My wife and I stayed for one night after 4days of exploring and hiking around Jasper and the Icefield Parkway.

May not be for everyone as Lake Louise is about 10 - 15 minutes drive away, and they are closed after October as their road is not accessible due to snow.

Saying that, would tell anyone who is willing to listen about this place. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    40
    18
    4
See reviews for
60
217
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Generally the Premiere Cabin with Loft had nice furnitures and we had an open fireplace which was very romantic. The location is perfect - very close to the river and not far away to the water fall and to Emerald Lake. The price performance ratio was really not good - too expensive! The breakfast was very poor for an hotel which would provide an high level to their guests. We had not really much selections on the buffet! The bed looked clean but the smell of the pillow was really bad and awful. They should buy new pillow because this is really necessary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for superb lodging and dining in the Banff National Park area, avoid the crowds of Lake Louise and travel a short 30-minute drive west to the Cathedral Mountain Lodge. Premium lof cabin accommodations on the banks of the Kicking Horse River. Fireplaces, beautifully furnished and finished, the cabins and grounds offer a private retreat from tourists and civilization. Highly recommended and be sure to take in dinner at the main lodge. Local meats, fish and vegetables prepared stylishly and flavorfully.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We returned to lodge for a 3 night stay. We were welcomed and informed of the improvements the lodge had made since our last visit. On the first night we had a pleasant dinner in the lodge and then started to notice details that we found disappointing based on the calibre of the lodge (or what it should be). The first night we lost power 3 times. Never was an explanation or apology issued by the staff. Fortunately we had headlamps, as the cabins are not equipped with flashlights. We were told that the breakfast buffet had greatly improved and the chef, when inspired, had even started making crepes. Well, in our three breakfasts, we never saw a crepe. As well, despite a claim on their dinner menu to be organic and local, both the breakfast and afternoon tea consisted of primarily processed foods (packaged cereals, store bought cookies, pastries, frozen bread, etc.) rather than whole foods. Fair trade/organic coffee and teas, homemade granola, homemade baked goods, farm fresh eggs, garnishes for the scrambled eggs and local meats would be greatly welcomed. You know there are issues with the menu when guests are bringing in their own food to supplement what is offered. Considering the active population that stays at the lodge, providing healthy whole foods should be a priority for all food offereings. Additionally, for all the guests they offer a 2 slot toaster creating a predictable back-up every morning at the buffet table - who is going to have frozen bread with their scrambled eggs? The other issue was the staff seemed to have issues keeping the buffet table stocked with staple items, requiring guests to wait or ask for more (i.e. bread, cookies, tea, etc.). The other issue we found in bad taste was to be charging for various items such as specialty coffees and smores - if you are charging people over $300/night this should be part of what is included in that cost. Finally, age is starting to show on the cabins and attention to upgrades and details needs to occur if this lodge is going to continue to charge the same rates. Our cabin had broken sliding door catches, burn marked furniture, furniture that was starting to wear and frayed towels.

We are not sure if what we experienced was due to a busy summer and burnt out staff or a lack of attention to details. Either way, hopefully the lodge takes feedback to heart if they want to continue to attract return guests and to advertise themselves as a high calibre mountain lodge.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight in the event of power outages. Hope you get a cabin away from the parking lot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapilanoGroup, Manager at Cathedral Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again and posting your review. Comments and suggestions from guests are essential in our continuing efforts to improve the experience we provide at Cathedral Mountain Lodge.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed you dinner in our Riverside Dining Room, but disappointed you were not satisfied by the complimentary breakfast buffet or afternoon tea services we offer. We use fresh local ingredients whenever possible and receive a significant portion of our produce from a small private farm in the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia. Our breakfast buffet is simpler than our full evening service, but we do feature an organic and house-made granola, fresh seasonal fruit (this past week featured BC blueberries), organic Greek yoghurt, and a selection of pastries baked fresh each morning. I am sorry you missed Chef’s crepes. I hope when you return they will be available.

One of our realities, being completely off the grid, is generating our own power. This past week we experienced some difficulties with a new generator. These difficulties have now been resolved and power outages should not happen again. Thank you for your suggestion of flashlights; each year we try and improve on the previous season and will do our best to meet your needs in the years to come.

We believe our guests are the best source of information for continual improvement; we welcome the opportunity to understand and learn from your experience. Should you have additional information you care to share with us, or additional suggestions, please feel to contact me personally at any time.

James Hague
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recently, we enjoyed a week in Cathedral Mountain Lodge, basking in the beauty of the surrounding woods and Kicking Horse River. We cannot praise the management and staff enough for their excellent services to the guests of the Lodge. Our cabin was sparkling clean and comfortable, provided with all the amenities offered by exclusive hotels (such as a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and luxurious bath linens and blankets), including a fireplace for which more than ample kindling and logs were provided. The chairs on the porch were additional pleasures.
Chef Steven Lay's menus for breakfast and dinner were varied and the food delicious; waitstaff was friendly, hospitable, and considerate of every detail of fine dining. The lodge's dining room is inviting with its large fireplace and walls of windows that bring the outdoors inside; the adjacent seating area is a comfortable afternoon retreat for cookies and tea, as is the deck outside with its own fireplace for evening enjoyment. The entire management and staff reflected the appeal of the architecture of the property, which we perceived as welcoming and hospitable. After enduring a stressful summer in the heat and drought of West Texas, we rejoiced to find a beautiful, cool, serene setting which served as a base for daily expeditions to the lakes, woods, and mountains of the great Canadian Rockies. How wonderful to return to a private cabin after the day's excursions for a brief nap before dinner!
Disconnecting from telephone, TV, cell and Wi-Fi service enabled us to refresh our spirits. (The dial-up computer that guests may use was helpful in a time of need.) As well as the bountiful memories of Cathedral Lodge, we brought home two lovely pieces of Ryan Cameron's pottery from The Velvet Antler in Field after seeing his pitchers used in the dining room. We are twice blessed now--glorious memories and lovely pottery. Thank you, everyone, for the gift of your hospitality and fellowship! God bless you all as you close the Lodge for the winter season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, Dorset
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge for three nights, as part of a Rockies adventure. What a fabulous place, located on the icey blue river, it's a stunning location, I loved the 'Christmas Tree forest' to the front of the main lodge! For the first two nights we had a twin room, number 19, which was lovely, great accents and large wrap around veranda, and the smell of wood thoughout the room is part of the charm. For the last night we had a queen room, number 26, this was tucked away at the rear of the development. The rooms have a small fridge, with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was in the main lodge with the fire crackling and a stunning view over the river. They laid out fresh fruits, amazing yoghurt and granola, as well as bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs, great start to the day! Amazingly we didn't miss the lack of TV or Wifi, which are normal staples in our life, it was a real get away. Just in case you cant tell from this review, we loved it!!!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge. We were so happy when we arrived and were shown to our very cozy and comfortable cabin. It was so much nicer than we had expected. The scenery around the resort was beautiful and it was so nice to be able to walk down to the river (the resort is right on the Kicking Horse River). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I liked the remote feeling of the location and the fact that there was no TV, internet, or phone. But it actually wasn’t all that remote as we were only 13 miles from Lake Louise and an even shorter drive to some of the best hikes in the area – Lake O’Hara, Emerald Lake, and Takakaw Falls. I was so happy to come back to our cabin every evening to relax on the porch swing or the cozy couch, with my wife and my dog. I forgot to mention that they welcomed our dog with a nice dog bed and a bowl full of biscuits. Little touches like that really mean a lot. I would definitely stay here again and would even more definitely recommend it.

The only improvement I would like to see with this lodge is, due to their relatively remote location, that they either offer laundry facilities or, even better, provide a laundry service (or even contract out for a laundry service). We had been travelling for a week before arriving here and were a bit disappointed to have to drive over to Field to do laundry – according to my travel book Field is a place that is best avoided as it basically has nothing to offer. However, serendipitously I suppose, we found Field to be delightful and would never have discovered it if not for the laundry thing.

It was a bit rainy when we went there, a quaint little town mostly consisting of some old homes that had been converted to B&B type accommodations and the Kicking Horse hotel, where they had 2 sets of coin operated laundry machines. Since we were doing our laundry there we figured we would have dinner at their restaurant, the Truffle Pig, while we waited for our laundry. While waiting for a machine, the weather cleared and we were treated to the most beautiful scene of scattered stringy clouds, mist hovering amongst the surrounding rocky peaks, and the setting sun painting the mountains all different shades of orange and red. I was a bit frustrated that the food was relatively expensive, again, but we sat down for dinner anyway, and wow! Some of the best food I’ve ever had and worth ever penny of the $20 to $30 price tag for the entrees. You would not expect it, the restaurant is rustic and relaxed in feel, almost bohemian, but the food is gourmet. I am not a “foody” and rarely complain or rave about a meal. But the dishes here are excellent – memorable. Even the simple stuff – like bread – was special, like the chefs spent hours on every little detail and ingredient in their recipes. They want their customers to enjoy their food as much as they obviously enjoy making it. We loved it so much we came back the following night as well, and they recognized us! We had 6 different entrees in those two days and every one was either the best we’ve had or a close #2. So if you stay at Cathedral Mountain, I recommend making the short drive over to Field for one of the cutest and quaintest little towns you’ll find in the area, and possibly the best food for miles and miles – well at least the best you’ll find for under $50 per person and you don’t have to wear a suit to dine in. It might be difficult to find enough to do in Field to occupy an entire day, but after some hiking at Takakaw or Emerald Lake, it’s a quick little jaunt over to Field and the Truffle Pig.

Room Tip: In my opinion, all of the cabins looked great. We had the most basic one they offer and we were more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.