We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Easy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Divide Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Great Divide Lodge to your Saves list
The Great Divide Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 - 14 km (9 mi) W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheap and Easy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We were camping and it started raining. West Louise Lodge was cheap and the bed was comfortable. At 69$ a night you shouldn't expect luxury but it all you need is a clean bed to sleep in this is the right place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    19
    18
    23
See reviews for
28
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Room was freezing, snow in room from fireplace and windows with huge drafts. Was just the beginning, room was filthy, shower needed pliers to turn on, made our own beds which was kinda like home :) . These are just the more major issues that we had. needed to travel to Canmore Ab for a room in a snow storm just to get out of this place. Not worth $20 bucks a night, better off tenting at the base of the Lake Louise Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

You wont be able to find anywhere less expensive in this area, with the exception of a hostel . It is an interesting stay. It was clean but with some hilarity. The sheets were too large for the twin beds in our room. Our room had a balcony but it was a nice home for the birds so it was covered in their poop. The staff were friendly and we slept well there.
Also it is my understanding that they run on there own generator and they also have a gas pump. At times surrounding communities will loose power and you might have a hard time finding fuel, go to the lodge.

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

On our way through the mountains and drawn in by the "ROOMS FROM $59" sign. Paid a little more than that for a room with 2 beds and a balcony overlooking the adjacent lake (AND THE #1 HIGHWAY UNFORTUNATELY)! Room was clean, free high-speed internet was an unexpected bonus considering the location. While the hotel seems clean enough, it's in desperate need of new carpeting and paint. No coffee in rooms, and limited hours in the cafe make getting a cup of coffee almost impossible. No phone in my room - went to front desk to inquire - apparently NONE of the rooms have phones? No alarm clock either. Bathroom also clean, but the yellow and green fixtures appear to be left over from the '70's and are in desperate need of replacement. Food is better than expected and portions are large, but serving staff are unattentive and apathetic. All things considered, I'd probably stay there again at the price, but it'd be a stretch to recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed 4 nights wanting take in some of the local sights and do a little exploring in the area. Having 2 children and a modest budget, we needed a place large enough to accommodate our family that was also affordable. A room with a double bed with two singles was within our budget. The room, and the lodge, was modest and somewhat aged but clean and well maintained.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested we visit Lake O’Hara for hiking which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip! We were simply blown away by the awesome scenery and variety of trails. If you haven’t been there you simply must go. It’s pretty close by which is also nice. We also took a ride on the sightseeing gondola at Lake Louise which is another great thing to do if you’re in the area. The view from the top is spectacular, and we even saw a mother grizzly bear with 2 cubs!

We ate in the dining room several times which was quite good. The kids liked the pool and the sauna did its job.

Overall our experience at West Louise Lodge was enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

This place is terrible. The room was dirty, the bathroom was disgusting, and the fixtures in the bath not working properly. We were tired from a long backpack trip and decided to "treat" ourselves to a hotel night and didn't have the energy to drive any farther, so we got a room for the night at West Louise. What a mistake.

Sleep in your car, it's better and you'll save some money. If we'd paid $20 for the room we had, we'd have felt ripped off.

  • Liked — Nothing. It was terrible.
  • Disliked — Everything. Everything was awful.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
area52
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Do yourself and your family a favour and don't even think about staying here! If you do, you will find out how dirty, dingy and delapidated this hotel is. The pool had water, but I wouldn't swim in it - as a matter of fact, the tub in the bathroom had not been cleaned in who knows when and wasn't fit to use either. Filthy carpets and I noticed a mouse run under one of the couches in the lobby. Health issues aside, there is no air conditioning, and even with fans the room was like an oven. We pre-booked this hotel much to our regret and stayed only one night as we were too tired to move on, but I noticed the hotel still managed to fill the place (!) with last minute walk-ins, with some people who were turned away sleeping outside in their cars. If you were one of those people, consider yourself lucky - you probably slept in a much cleaner, cooler, and more comfortable evironment than the hotel!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great Divide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Lodge

Address: Hwy 1 - 14 km (9 mi) W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Divide Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Kicking Horse Pass and Continental Divide in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We are the gateway to 3 of Canada’s national parks and over look Wapta Lake on the British Columbia side of the majestic Canadian Rockies. We're just 10 minutes from the world class skiing and snowboarding at Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Great Divide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Hotel Field
West Louise Hotel
West Louise Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Divide Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.