We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place if not a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truffle Pigs Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truffle Pigs Lodge
Save
You added Truffle Pigs Lodge to your Saves list
100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Great little place if not a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the family suite and it was fine nothing special as a room for two hundred dollars . The town is great though really charming and the views and quietness after the hype of Banff was fantastic ! The reception staff were helpful and we would recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Everything about our experience was terrific! We stayed two nights; unfortunately, we could not get the room of our choice for two consecutive nights, so we had to switch out of the preferred room and into a 2nd room. However, both rooms were very clean and quite attractive, although they are not luxurious. We ate two breakfasts and two dinners at the Bistro and enjoyed every morsel of the beautifully prepared meals. Field itself is a lovely little town with a fascinating history and easy access to Yoho Park hikes and Lake Louise to the east. We found all the staff helpful, courteous, and responsive.

I agree with other reviewers who caution about the train lines, which are part of Field's (and Canada's) history.....if you are a touchy sleeper, this might be a problem since the inn is very close to the train yard and the trains do come in both day or night. However, I'm very glad we stayed here, and hope to be able to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food was tasty when it arrived however it took close to an hour and a half after ordering for our food to be served. It is clear they were busy and there was only one server so we were patient but when the food did come we were disappointed at the portions. I had the goat cheese alfredo which was $16 and about handful of pasta. The nachos which were also quite small with only 3 pieces of meat and came to $12. The angus burger was a good portion at least. The food was tasty but for the price of $67+tip for 3 people having lunch and coffee was a bit much. We spent two hours in total (a half hour waiting to be seated) there and while we were happy to be patient it did not seem like we got the bang for our buck. There were a couple small items on the cheque that were not ordered but it was not worth the extra wait to have it fixed so we just paid to get out of there. Again, it was a nice place and the staff was friendly and polite but we will most likely not return the next time we drive through. We did not stay at the hotel, just the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Field is a small place, perfectly situated for hiking and sightseeing in Yoho National Park. Truffle pigs is a really homely and comfortable place to stay, the only significant drawback is the train line and the very noisy trains that pass throughout the day, morning and evening. This is not an issue with Truffle Pig, you will find this staying anywhere in Field. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the good reviews, I decided to book a night here. Seriously? Why the hype? I think the cleanliness is below par. The room is humid and lack ventilation as I walked in. Queen size bed for 2 people is really too small for us. The reception area is far less appealing, it's the back of the restaurant bar. The lady that helped us didn't know what's going on because she doesn't usually work there, well then where are the regular staff? Not super friendly and sneezed frequently, really not hygienic. The shower fan made a lot if noise but can barely take out the shower steam. Location not great either, we were stuck in town waiting for the long train to pass. The town certainly has its charm but not for me. No cell phone service, no wifi reception up in the room. Decoration is dated. For $200/night I expect a little more. Won't return, will just stay in banff for better place, same price. Disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we drove up the Icefields Parkway. It was handy as we were visiting Emerald Lake and Takakkaw Falls.

The hotel room was a bit musty but clean, with a fridge in the room as well as a coffee maker. The bathroom was very dark - so dark that it could be a bit scary and it's a bit hard to see what you are doing! There is free WiFi which is very unstable - this has nothing to do with the hotel but a reflection of the town you are staying in! There is a basement communal games room and laundry too. The rooms back on to the railway track and there are trains which pass in the night. I slept soundly through it all but my wife was waken up by the trains a couple of times. However we took advice from previous traveller and stayed on the second floor which helped.

The bistro downstairs is excellent and it is worth reserving a table when you arrive. Eating there is simply a must as the food is delicious.

Overall I would give the bistro 4.5/5 and the room 3.5/5 hence the total score of 4/5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the Kicking Horse Lodge and ate at the Truffle Pigs Bistro. Room was small but acceptable and clean, with a soft bed. The food was great and the staff fab and fun. The village is tiny but friendly and nice to stay off the beaten track a bit while on our Canadian road trip. Nice chocs and gorgeous local sopa for guests. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Truffle Pigs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffle Pigs Lodge

Address: 100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 13 room post and beam hotel/lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park, Field BC. Home of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lounge: award winning and nationally and internationally acclaimed eclectic bistro. This is a unique family run property in the thick of the rocky mountains that is unpretentious, comfortable, welcoming and human. The staff is likewise : energetic, passionate and professional. This property is a fantastic family hotel, romantic outdoor couples mecca, a hikers hang out and a skier friendly lodge that is minutes from some of Canada's most prestigious ski hills and mountain destinations. Winter is cozy and tranquil & summer is relaxing and chaotic: an atmosphere unlike any other in the Canadian Rockies and not to be missed. Rooms are clean and spacious, freshly renovated and affordable. The property has free parking, WiFi, coin laundry, games room, manicured gardens and immediate access to mountain terrain. Cell service is now available in Field. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicking Horse Lodge And Truffle Pigs Bistro Hotel Field
Kicking Horse Hotel
Kicking Horse Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truffle Pigs Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.