We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truffle Pigs Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truffle Pigs Lodge
100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Field
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent here 3 nights and enjoyed it! The room with the kitchen is spacious and well equipped. The stuff is very helpful and service oriented. Field itself is a perfect location for hikes at Yoho National Park and Lake Louise area. Warmly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you're looking to stay in the Lake Louise area, do expand your search to the lovely town of Field and stay at the Truffle Pigs Lodge. It's a cute, clean hotel with a fabulous restaurant that turns into a very welcoming bar after 9 PM.

The only downside - We were put in the first floor room right next to the kitchen and as soon as the bar closed, the music was turned up. We had to go ask the staff to turn it down, but they did so immediately and we got a good sleep. I believe we were in the handicap accessible room.

Although we didn't get to eat at the Bistro on this visit, we just rebooked for my 30th birthday weekend and can't wait to try it out. I can't see us staying in Lake Louise ever again after finding this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room far away from the bar/kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent one night here on a road trip in June 2013. It's hard to separate the lodge from the restaurant but if you stay here it would be a crime not to eat in the bistro so this review should be taken as covering both. The lodge is very comfortable with good amenities - impressively comfortable and mildly stylish for a lodge in such a small, well-kept, and peaceful village.

The restaurant is different class. The ambience is fantastic, combining the atmosphere of a pleasant rural pub with the produce and service levels of a top-end restaurant. The menu and food are incredible - not just incredible for a small village, incredible for any location. The menu ideas are innovative and well-executed - the maple-smoked oysters has joined the ranks of my best food memories. Stay here, enjoy the wine list and craft beers, and pig out on the menu. If you're into chilling out, stay for two nights and do it all over again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Driving through Field looking for a coffee shop it seemed everything was still closed from winter- until we stumbled across trotting this fabulous place. Food service and ambience you would expect to find in a big city. It was really fabulous- highly recommend it as a place to eat, drink and soak up the views. We certainly did - best meal we had in BC. Thank you

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The Truffle Pigs lodge is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for that quiet getaway, or even if you just need to rest for a night.

Be sure to head down to the restaurant, where you will find a nice, cozy, and very beautiful dining room. The friendly staff will make you feel like your one of the locals while you dine and enjoy some of the amazing food.

The guest rooms are newly renovated, and are absolutely gorgeous! There are some in room snacks and cold beverages available for purchase if you arrived late and missed dinner!

Overall, a great place to stay or stop for a bite to eat!

Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Owner at Truffle Pigs Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank yo for taking the time to write your last review. We appreciate the time you took to inform other like minded customers who travel to our area. We strive to make everyones experience of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lodge remarkable. I am elated that we succeeded in offering you a remarkable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hubby and I were travelling to Field with four friends to do a bit of skiing over at Lake Louise and they all suggested we stay in Field at the Truffle Pigs Lodge. We all shared a room which was excellent and had dinner in the restaurant - Truffle Pigs Bistro - the food was outstanding! Atmosphere was superb too!

Great lodgings in a superb location with excellent food...what more do you need???

Room Tip: The family room, 201 is superb for friends or a group as it has two queen beds and a sofa bed, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Owner at Truffle Pigs Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and Lodge. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back in the future - Chef Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place was suggested by a great friend of mine to have dinner on my trip to the rocky mountains. Lovely place, decided to stay for the night. Little railroad town just past the BC boarder. The place is clean and cosy place. fine cuisine for dinner, nice piece of meat! beautiful decor.

Room Tip: Take the highest floor, better view, and less traffic in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truffle Pigs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffle Pigs Lodge

Address: 100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Field
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 13 room post and beam hotel/lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park, Field BC. Home of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lounge: award winning and nationally and internationally acclaimed eclectic bistro. This is a unique family run property in the thick of the rocky mountains that is unpretentious, comfortable, welcoming and human. The staff is likewise : energetic, passionate and professional. This property is a fantastic family hotel, romantic outdoor couples mecca, a hikers hang out and a skier friendly lodge that is minutes from some of Canada's most prestigious ski hills and mountain destinations. Winter is cozy and tranquil & summer is relaxing and chaotic: an atmosphere unlike any other in the Canadian Rockies and not to be missed. Rooms are clean and spacious, freshly renovated and affordable. The property has free parking, WiFi, coin laundry, games room, manicured gardens and immediate access to mountain terrain. Cell service is now available in Field. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicking Horse Lodge And Truffle Pigs Bistro Hotel Field
Kicking Horse Hotel
Kicking Horse Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truffle Pigs Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Truffle Pigs Lodge to your Saves list