We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Cathedral Mountain Lodge
1 Yoho Valley Road, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
250-343-6442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Field
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: Canadian
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Lovely setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My hubby and I did not dine here as we were renting a cabin in Field and cooked our own food to save money, however, I really wanted to stop by and see this place while we were there. We drove up one evening and went in for a glass of wine. It was a Wednesday in July and it wasn't crowded. We were able to sit in front of the fireplace on the large, leather sofa while enjoying our bottle (so we ended up with more than " a glass") of wine. It was beautiful and the wine was very good! We did look at the menu and, of course, it was pricey as it is everywhere. If you're planning to dine out a lot, just plan to spend the money. Anyway, while I cannot comment on the food, I do recommend stopping by to see this place and at least enjoy a glass of wine and the roaring fire!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We did not stay at the lodge but chose the restaurant after a day of hiking and sightseeing. The food and service were excellent and the setting is very pleasing -- refined without being stuffy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, Elegant, Relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

All of the above AFTER hiking Iceline. We almost nixed this since we were tired and didn't want to get dressed up. SO GLAD we had already reserved a table and felt obliged to go. They sat us by the window where we enjoyed dusk and being unhurried with an order. EXCELLENT wait-person who let me try 2 different wines before making my selection. The food was hearty and well prepared. It took an 'I'm too tired to move' evening and moved it to 'romantic date night'.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal in a Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here the first night of our stay at the Lodge. They have a good selection of Canadian wines (and yes, there are some very good Canadian wines), and the food, mostly locally sourced, was very good. My Steelhead Trout was a standout.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallstatt, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a couple's retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a Premier Cabin with a loft - loved every moment of it - from the unlimited firewood just outside our cabin door to the quietness and beauty of the surroundings! Staff are great, lots of things to do nearby and breakfast was amazing! Will be back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Mountain Lodge also viewed

Field, Yoho National Park
 
Field, Yoho National Park
Field, Yoho National Park
 

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.