We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Emerald Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is breathtaking but the rooms were really disappointing - dark, dingy and cramped. We felt that this was a hotel that catered to winter rather than summer guests, summed up by the fact that there's an open log fire in the room but no air conditioning. We spent the most uncomfortable 2 nights of our 2 week holiday here; apart from the fact that we literally found it difficult to breathe the walls were thin: on the first night we could here a dog barking and on the second someone coughing in adjoining rooms. Bathroom very cramped. Hotel is somewhat redeemed by food: I enjoyed perfectly cooked halibut and caribou (separate occasions...) and a fabulous bowl of granola, berries and yoghurt for breakfast. Service in the evening was excellent: our first encounter with a somewhat unhelpful barman was rapidly remedied by our waitress, Hannah, who was knowledgeable and pleasant. Great apple mojitos. Breakfast service a bit more haphazard. I wouldn't return here. We drove into Field and I'd be tempted to explore b&b options in this lovely little place and just come to Emerald Lake to walk and eat. Spend the money you've saved by booking into the Fairmont in Banff...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    206
    96
    62
    30
See reviews for
122
431
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes, Emerald Lake is nothing short of spectacular, the food at the Lodge (especially breakfast) is solidly good and the accomodations and public spaces are just what they should be, elegant rustic. All flows well and life is easy at Emerald Lake Lodge. When my companion and I had a hiking mishap, however, we could not believe the kindness and concern with which the staff responded. That attitude has to start with top management, who receive all the compaints. In this case the management deserves our praise and gratitude for creating an atmosphere of service and caring, all too rare today.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room with a terrace on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nestled within the pine trees, right on the shore of Emerald Lake, I can't imagine a more perfect setting. The pictures fail to do the location justice or prepare you for arrival at the lake; the peace and tranquility is truly breathtaking.

The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and made the stay very comfortable. The chalets are a little dark and lack TVs, but this seems entirely appropriate to appreciate your stay within the rockies. Why would you watch TV when you can see the stars? This place is about getting away from everything and listening to the near silence of nature.

I can't recommend this place enough. We could have stayed for a lot longer and I really didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay and I am perplexed by some of the comments left about staff rudeness: my experience could not be more different, from the guy who collected us at the lodge to all the waitresses who served us during our stay. Everyone we came into contact with was charming. If you want a bland corporate hotel this is not for you: yes, it is rather faded and worn, but to me, that adds to the charm. And the view from our balcony across to the lake was sublime. We enjoyed two meals in the hotel lounge and breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious. We canoed on the lake one afternoon and away from the day trippers, it was heavenly! This place was the highlight of our 10 day trip to the Rockies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery that surrounds us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I couldn't wait to take my daughter to Emerald Lake Lodge for the night while on our Canadian vacation. I hate to leave a bad review but I was so disappointed in the staff and the food at this place. If it weren't for the confusion with parking further away (and calling for a shuttle), the rude & hard to find staff, and horrible food, I could see us staying longer. The friendliest staff member we encountered was the petite little girl helping with the canoes. She was very engaging, interactive, and the only one I saw who smiled. The only thing going for this place is the beauty of the lake, the surroundings, and the view from the cabins. I would recommend that management train the reception staff and waitresses to be friendlier and more accommodating. For it to take 45 minutes to get a bill after breakfast was ridiculous. No one could find our waitress and I had to go through 3 different servers before they found her. It was very disappointing. During dinner at Cilantro on the Lake my steak was cooked to beef jerky texture and our waitress was impatient and rude when my daughter asked for ranch dressing, which they didn't have. The woman at the gift shop at the canoe dock didn't seem to know what she was doing, either. For what we paid, I expected friendlier staff and better food. I'll think twice about staying there again but would definitely recommend visiting and canoeing the lake, which was the highlight of our visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been here from the early to mid 1990's, back then ELL had just gone through a massive and expensive renovation since 1986.
Its just like coming home once again, the place looks familiar but with all new staff of course.
The weekend weather was spectacular during our stay, wild flowers are in full bloom.
We have to thank Christine at the front desk to sort out a couple of issues in our cabin.
The dinning experience was great, the staff were professional, enjoyed chatting with our bartender Steve - a long time local of Field.
The facilities are of course a bit older now, probably a coat of paint would brighten up the place.
Perhaps some ceiling fans could be incorporated into the bedrooms in the future - it was very warm during our weekend at ELL.
It would be great if some free weights were available in the fitness area.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms further away from the main access bridge. During the day many tour buses show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dont be fooled by this place.Restaurant food was good enough and the very least you would expect for the prices.The minute you arrive to check in the staff at the desk do not try to hide their lack of interest in being helpful or even polite.Key handed to you, direction to your cabin and then turn their back to any questions and even if you do ask the question to their back they will ignore you!!cabins are in a bad state.Hallways stink.fixtures and fittings are worn out, dirty carpets,worn out baths etc.Cabin s are so dark that they are more like a set for a spooky movie.All in all, it was terrible.Is there no authority in Canada that inspects these places???

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Emerald Lake Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.

Emerald Lake Lodge Manager
ellmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Lake Lodge

Address: Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Lake Hotel Field
Emerald Lake Lodge Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.