We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful vistas at a high price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Emerald Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas at a high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Emerald Lake is spectacular, the walk around the lake accessible and delightful and accommodations above average. The restaurants on site are also pricey. If you wish to visit this area there are not many alternatives. Prices are relatively high throughout the Canadian Rockies during the summer season. Just be aware that Emerald Lake Lodge is best for those who appreciate life without phones, television and very limited Internet availability. We enjoyed white water rafting just a 20 minutes drive away. It is a good place to visit for a day or two on the way to Jasper, since it is away from the more touristy and crowded towns of Banff and Lake Louise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    184
    86
    59
    26
See reviews for
104
369
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful spot with outstanding views but the rooms are so tired. No aircon, no fan, no TV, no fridge, no ceiling fan, and it was a hot day. We were offered a shuttle from the carpark to the lodge but even then our room was another 500m walk uphill with carry on luggage.
It needs work!!!

Room Tip: Insist on a room closer to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I are retired. We have enjoyed Emerald Lake Lodge as guests, and as day trippers, for many, many years. It is truly a fabulous place. On Sunday, June 30th, we drove to the Lode to have lunch and enjoy their stunning scenery. We had lunch on the deck at the main Lodge, and all of the staff, especially Hannah, were really friendly, courteous and professional. And the food was excellent. Thank you.

We walked the 5.5 km trail around the lake, (easy), and then stopped around 5:00 in the afternoon at their restaurant by the lake called Cilantro's. We have had drinks and meals there on other occasions too. Nice setting. It was a perfectly beautiful day, with warm sun and little breeze. Sitting on their deck was desirable. It was busy, and one server suggested she could look to see if it might be possible to move an umbrella to a table for us. We could see that there was a table with two people at it, with two large umbrellas, and a small table near by with no umbrella and no people. Another server, seemingly more senior, interjected, and abruptly indicated that nothing could be moved on the deck. I suggested that it could be seen that not much of a move was needed. This more senior server stared past me, and rudely said to the other woman that they couldn't be moving things around, that we could be seated inside. It would have been nice if she had addressed us directly, rather than talking past us as if we were imposing on her space. It would have been nice if she had perhaps explained to us her thinking behind her position. It would have been nice if she had just smiled. Maybe she was at the end of a long shift. Maybe someone before us had been rude to her. I don't know, but having been the owners of a retail store ourselves in the past, we know that it does not take many incidents like this to get a place a poor name. We will try Cilantro's again. We did not speak to a manager at the time, and perhaps should have done so. I think that the senior server should remember that she, as the staff of the restaurant, is serving us, as the patrons of the restaurant, and regardless of whatever is going on for her at the time, she should remember that a little professional courtesy, at all times, does not take much effort.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin on the lake side of the walking path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your 25th Anniversary in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of dining in the restaurant. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for your 50th!

Warmest Regards,
General Lodge Manager
Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A cabin in the woods by this beautiful lake. Everything for your comfort has been thought about - even the wood fire in our cabin was set up ready to simply light the match! A serene, beautiful part of the world - this lodge fits in magnificently with its surrounds. Meals and service are excellent. The short walk from the main centre to your cabin helps one to appreciate the surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful scenery that surrounds the lodge. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,
General Manager
Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in May having booked off the Internet. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The "lodge" we were in had four rooms, two up and two down. Ours was upstairs with a balcony and looked onto the lake. It was very pretty and comfortably appointed. The bed was one of the best we have slept in. Perhaps or some, having to leave your car behind in the car park might be bothersome but the shuttle service was good and it seemed we never had to wait more than a few minutes. We ate at the lodge mostly (there's not much in Field itself) and the food was excellent. The walk around the lake was easy (mostly flat) and afforded some excellent photo opportunities. A very pretty place and would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulwala, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I elected to stay here rather than at Lake Louise Fairmont and are glad we did. The resort is a collection of individual lodges which front the lake which is a real picture.
The main lodge houses the reception and restaurant/bar which is brilliant.
Each lodge has an open fireplace and they supply firewood so you can lie back in bed , look out to the lake with the fire blazing away.
The entire experience was all too short for us.

Room Tip: Request a lodge overlooking the lake as some don't have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A fantastic scenic view is the draw here. The resort is in a beautiful valley between the snow capped Rocky Mountains and situated on a lake which is Emerald green. Fantastic scenery but the lodges were not up to snuff and some (not ours) were a little run down. We stayed in one lodge with four units and they are not really sound proofed. We could here our neighbours quite easily. The staff were superb and the restaurant was excellent, if not a little pricey...but what do you expect at such a captivating small resort. I understand the individual cabins are much better but again, a higher in price. Overall, we would recommend it but try to get located on the other end of the resort away from the main road. Just to compare, we stayed at several other cabins on various lakes in the region for less money with much better lodging but no food and of course, not nearly the same view.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the entrance to the resort (away from the bridge) as the tourists and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience in the restaurant. I can assure you the updating of our guest rooms is a continual process and we do take all feedback into consideration during this process. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Lake Lodge

Address: Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Emerald Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Lake Hotel Field
Emerald Lake Lodge Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.