We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chill out location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Emerald Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice chill out location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Spent 1 night with my fiancee mid week at this lodge. The setting is nice and we pretty much had it to our selfs as not many people were staying here. The staff were good, especially Australian John who picked us up in the shuttle bus. He was very energetic and wanted us to have a fantastic stay.

The main lodge has a snooker/TV room upstairs for relaxing. Full size snooker table!!

We ate from the lounge menu which was much cheaper then eating in the dinning room. $18 for a Bison burger compared to $40 + for other meals..... The burger was awesome by the way and really hit the spot.. Alcoholic drinks are about $6 each ish.

The accomodation lodges were ok to good. Very nice having a fire place and to be honest it was nice not having a television. Though I agree with other reviewers that perhaps some paint may be required on the walls. Nothing worth complaining about though.

Hot tub was nice and hot, and large. two treadmills are available as well if you want to burn off dinner. Lots of towels and stuff are freely available. Water is drinkable from the taps.

Overall we had a great time and would come back if the price was right. Nice to get away for a bit.We thought breakfast was expensive so we ate in Field at The Siding restaurant. Food was awesome and Rick in the kitchen was very friendly and appreciated our business....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    165
    72
    47
    22
See reviews for
92
313
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

14 of us went to celebrate Mom and Dads 50th wedding anniversary on March 31,2012.
I have nothing bad to say about this place, it was a beautiful setting. Lots of snow, it made it a bit difficult walking up the hill to our cabin. Not a big problem as you could call for the bobcat to pick you up and take you to and from the main lodge.
I have to say that the drivers really made a difference there. They made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for us. I think my Mom fell in love with the Australian guys!
As for the main lodge staff, they were pleasant. I found the bartenders a bit slow, also keep an eye on the bill if you are a bigger group,a few extra Martini's made it on the bill. Also asked for cocktail napkins as the bartender was a bit shaky with the drinks, they never arrived!
The anniversary dinner was very good,waiter was very nice. He really needed help carrying the food up to the private room. He was really out of breath and all beef plates were cold. It was really odd as he was the food and beverage manager!
I found the cabins to hot and just a bit small, but we really did not spend much time there. Hot tub and fire pit were great. Met really nice people in the hot tub.
Breakfast buffet was good,also the menu was good for breakfast. I found the Rocky Mountain plate for two a disappointment,it needed help as in mustard and maybe some berries for color.The cured meat was good, it just looked boring.
We went to Field for dinner at the Pigs Truffle, it was very good.
I would go back in the summer to hike around the lake and just to enjoy the place.
Bring a few snacks and your own bar if you are watching the budget.
When it's time to leave, make sure you have the right bags! We came home with one extra,luckily the owner lives in Calgary like us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your families recent visit to Emerald Lake Lodge. We are pleased the group enjoyed the location of the lodge as well as the level of customer service that was provided. We would however like to take this opportunity to encourage guests to speak to us whilst still resident, preferable at the time when things are not great, affording us the opportunity to correct immediately. We would like to apologize for the issues with dinner as this is certinaly not our standard and we hope you will return to experience the dining we are known for.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a pricy hotel but well worth it.The service in the restaurants is madeningly slow and in the restaurant near the bridge they were quite rude. That said, the senary is so breathtaking - it makes you feel blessed. Try to stay there for a day or two if you cannot afford more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our family have stayed at the lodge usually during the winter months. More recently we have made a point of coming here during February or early March. This year we stayed at the lodge in early March. It is as usual a beautiful spot. The scenery is wonderous but we feel for the first time that the accommodations are getting a bit tired. It needs a good renovation and freshing up. Most disturbingly was the food in the dining room. Breakfast was very poor. Overcooked omolette and a breakfast hash that was indescribable. Dinner was not much better. It is very disappointing because we have been coming to Emerald Lake Lodge every year for the last 10 plus years and this is the first time we can truly say that it was disappointing. The staff tries hard but the management and owners need to step up to the plate and look at the food and accommodation standards. There as has a real deterioration in food and room quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed with the costumer service. All the staff are there to satisfy guests. The restraunt was great! A different menu then most are use to seeing, but well worth the value.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins which was a bit worn around the edges but it did have a working wood fireplace which added a pleasant lodge-like ambiance to our stay. The area around the lodge is quite stunning and it is worth a visit just for that. There is good cross country skiing/snowshoeing from the lodge which makes for a convenient stay. The food is good but not great and is quite expensive but everything in the parks region is. We can give it 4 stars for the location, good service and good food but it is not a great value compared to the expense.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Dissapointing. The resort can be beautiful in good weather and it was a lovely view from our room and balcony but for the price ... the huts needed painting and the rooms had little space for clothing plus the shower and taps were lacking pressure. We had no neighbours for the first 2 nights so it was quiet but when they arrived on day three we could hear everything that was going on in their room next door. The staff were unfortunately not up to standard/proffesionalism. However the maintenance guys, car pick up chaps etc.. were helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We would like to encourage guests to notify management of any issues or concerns while still at the lodge so that we have a chance to improve your stay immediately. We would like to apologize for the level of service and professionalism you received as this is certainly not the standard we strive for.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Emerald Lake Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emerald Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Lake Lodge

Address: Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Lake Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Emerald Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Lake Hotel Field
Emerald Lake Lodge Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.