We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Den Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den Guesthouse
Save
You added Bear's Den Guesthouse to your Saves list
Stephen Ave, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Field B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Loved rediscovering Field and staying here made it even more perfect. Wonderful suite with everything you could ever need, perfect location and it was a genuine pleasure meeting Lorraine- very inspirational lady! Lorraine even includes free use of her personal canoe, up at Emerald Lake, a definite must-do. All in all, felt more like staying with an old friend than a guesthouse, will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved this place. Field is a quaint village on the railway, which you would think would be loud, but really it didn't bother us at all, the train-watching was kinda fun. The host, Lorraine was fantastic; she is so friendly and was a wealth of information about the best hikes in the area, we saw the most beautiful sights. There is a BBQ available, and full amenities in the kitchen; a word of advice though, pick up your groceries in a larger town on your way, there aren't many options in Field. Bear's Den made for a great base to see the unbelievably gorgeous Yoho Nat'l Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Bears Den for 7 nights starting August 10th. Great place with that home-like feel. Right from the start the owner, Lorraine, was filling us in on the premiere hiking spots. She was absolutely amazing and we had the best week ever. I came away with the knowledge of the area and knowing I had made a friend for life. Thank you so much so our wonderful vacation. Locatuon was exactly in the spot needed for great hikes. Kelli, Karen, and Maggie.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLou105
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Bear's Den for two nights. This cabin has everything you could ever need and Lorraine is very welcoming and helpful. She is very knowledgeable about the area and will advise you on good places to visit locally.

There are two bedroooms, a big lounge/kitchen and we were able to use the BBQ one evening.

Not much in the way of shops in Field so bring your food with you or eat at the local hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We only stayed two nights at the Bears den but we were awarded the same level of hospitality and care as previous reviewers describe. It was great staying at this accommodation where everything is themed around bears. It is very spacious and although we only took breakfast there are facilities for cooking a main meal. Lorraine who also works at the visitors centre is a mine of information and gave us lots of tips and ideas where to visit and eat.
Filed is a small place nestling in the Kicking Horse valley in the Yoho National Park but has easy access to the Icefield parkway and Lake Louise . While you are in this area it is a must that you visit Emerald lake, you will be awarded with some stunning photo opportunities. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Bears Den for 5 nights in July, and had a great time.

Field is a great base in the Canadian Rockies as it is very close to a huge number of very different sites in both Yoho and Banff National Parks (e.g., Emerald Lake, Lake Louise, the Iceline Trail). It is a small village, with 2 restaurants, a general store and post office, train line and a couple of hundred people - very quaint, and a very different feel to the Disneyland toy town of Banff and the "I'm not really a town" of Lake Louise.

The accommodation at Bears Den was perfect for us: 1 double room, 1 twin room and 1 comfortable large sofa bed, along with a large kitchen. It was spacious and clean.
However, what made our stay brilliant was the warmth and advice of Lorraine: she works in the National Park and knows EVERYTHING, helping us to plan every day with a huge smile and directing us to highlights in the national parks we certainly wouldn't have thought of going to without her!

Brilliant stay; highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Agree with BoonyPerth below, who provides a good description of the layout and amenities of Bear's Den. We stayed at Bear's Den for 3 nights. We selected it because of the great reviews and kind words about Lorraine's warmth and knowledge of the area...all true! We had been to Field in 2007 and really liked the town. Field is a great base for visits to Lake O'Hara, Emerald Lake, Banff, Icefields Parkway, and Golden. We received a warm welcome from Lorraine on arrival. The guest house has lots of space and all the comforts of home. It also has many books about the Rockies (and its animals) and DVDs. We often walked into town and, on Lorraine's recommendation took a walk down the dirt road away from town (where she had spotted a mama bear and babies), which we enjoyed. Our special circumstance was that by the time we were checking out (June 21, 2013), Canmore and Calgary were experiencing record flooding. We couldn't reach our hotel or the airport via Hwy 93 due to mudslides and road closures. Lorraine allowed us to stay on in the room that afternoon while we made alternate hotel and plane reservations. The helpful staff (esp. Alex) at the Field Visitor Centre and Lorraine's superfast Wifi were instrumental in helping us plan an alternate route (a 16 hr drive instead of 2 hr) to the airport. We appreciate Lorraine so much for being a kind and caring person, and a friend away from home. She even checked up on us after we arrived home. We will be back.

Notes about the area: the Field Visitor Centre has BC and Alberta road maps, the chicken burger w/ salad at "the General Store" is delicious, and there are 2 playgrounds. The trains come and go all day and are fun to watch and to guess the cargo (the guest house had good insulation, so they aren't loud when in the room). For groceries, we recommend Sobey's in Golden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear's Den Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den Guesthouse

Address: Stephen Ave, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear's Den Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.