We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave reviews thoroughly deserved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Den Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den Guesthouse
Save
You added Bear's Den Guesthouse to your Saves list
Stephen Ave, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Field B&B and Inns
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Rave reviews thoroughly deserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having stayed at the Bears Den Guesthouse for 3 nights and having spoken to Lorraine about her experience and philosophy in running tourist accommodation I can understand the rave reviews from previous guests. Our stay could not have been better.
The Bears Den is huge with two double bedrooms, a massive , exceptionally well equipped kitchen, dining area, living area and bathroom with bath/shower and heaps of hot water. It has everything imaginable for self catering and to guarantee a perfect stay. The queen bed is very comfortable, there is fast and reliable wifi and cable tv and temperature controlled central heating. The decor is very arty and eclectic of course featuring a bear theme. Felt very homely and welcoming. The entry to the Bears Den is very private and seperate from the owners entry. Although a basement development the front of the apartment is at road level and has been brilliantly designed to not only provide privacy but also light and outlook to the surrounding snow covered mountains (well in May anyway).
Field is perfectly located for exploring the Yoho National Park and Lake Louise. Emerald Lake is very close by and Lake Louise is only 25 kms. Field is a quaint little village with a relaxed, welcoming feel - it also has a very interesting history. But there is no shopping so if self catering you need to bring everything including milk and bread.The Visitors Centre in town is very impressive and worth a visit. Ginette was very friendly, professional and helpful and assisted us with information,suggestions , park pass and maps.
It was great to be so close to major tourist attractions but to be able to retire to such comfort and space at the end of a days touring.
However the biggest asset to the Bears Den is Lorraine. What a lovely host who clearly responds to the needs of her guests. As has been pointed out by other reviewers Lorraine has great passion for her area and is very forthcoming with information and suggestions if requested.Her cheery welcome on our arrival was most appreciated and set the scene for such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for a wonderful 3 nights at The Bears Den.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was the perfect in-between stop before we headed to Golden to go snowboarding the next day. It was so handy to have a full kitchen and bring all our own food. The place was spotless and well kept, there is plenty of living space. Lorraine is wonderful and very accommodating.The area is gorgeous and Field is surrounded by some amazing views and outdoor adventures. I'm sure we will be back, and next time bring our families!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at The Bears Den Guesthouse while on a ski trip to Kicking horse, a little drive to the mountain in the morning from a lovely guest house, spacious well equipped kitchen. Super clean and lovely furnishings, comfortable beds. Washroom was clean and well appointed. Not a single complaint! Lorraine was welcoming and very friendly. Would recommend staying here for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at Bear's Den to a cosy, well equipped place and a welcoming note. Lorraine, the owner then came to see us and over our stay was really helpful with ideas for making the most of the area. The beds were comfortable,the place was spacious and perfect for our needs. We also enjoyed making use of the canoe and kayak available at Emerald lake (free of charge). We watched a local group of elk wading through the Kicking Horse river and also enjoyed watching the trains (we are not usually train spotters!!) The local restaurant, bar, shop and hotel were great too. It was a great base for hiking in Yoho. No good if you want noise, partying and crowds!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great stay! The suite is very comfortable and exactly what we needed for the 3 of us. The hostess Lorraine, was very accommodating and went out of her way to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. I would highly recommend this suite to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at Lorraine's Bear's Den and absolutely loved it. Lovely and cool after hiking in the summer heat, with a privated entrance, and lots of room for the four of us who stayed there and the six others who came to visit. Great beds with lovely linens, fabulous, well stocked kitchen, just like at home, great shower with lots of hot water, really nice upper patio with a BBQ and a fire pit. Great view of the trains but not too noisy as we looked down on the yard. Lorraine was a great resource for all the things to do in the valley and a lovely and unobtrusive hostess. We would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone travelling in the Lake Louise, Golden, Field, Yoho Nat. Park areas. Thanks Lorraine for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my mum - we were fed up of sharing twin rooms in pokey BnB's or hotels and this was PERFECT! We had space (a room each!) the kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom had a great shower, just what you need after a good day's hiking in the Rockies. We paid $100 in total per night, which we thought was great value for the location, space and homely character. Field itself was a real hidden gem. We loved it so much we came back for another night after going up to Jasper (via the must see icefields). There is a great deal to do in the area (spiral tunnels, 'A-walk-in-the-past', Emerald Lake) not to mention all the Bears. We saw them every night - sometimes just from Bear's Den Guesthouse! Lorraine is an excellent host - she works at the information centre as well so she's got all the best tips for day trips, what to see etc. Thanks Lorraine! We were very sad to go, we loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear's Den Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den Guesthouse

Address: Stephen Ave, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear's Den Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.