We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal, worst service of our visit to Newfoundland” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Peyton Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mount Peyton Hotel
Trans Canada Hwy, Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland and Labrador A2A 1P8, Canada
(709) 489-2251
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Carolina
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Worst meal, worst service of our visit to Newfoundland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Grand Falls on a holiday weekend Sunday night is no place to be if you are hungry. Our innkeeper told us the only options were the Mount Peyton hotel or fast food. MacDonald's would have been the better choice. Service was terrible, very slow and the server didn't know how to operate the cash register. The food was really poor quality, the chicken was inedible. All in all a very bad experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“breakfast only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had breakfast here one morning. The breakfast was just ok. Had to wait about 5 minutes to be seated in a mostly empty room. They put on a pot of decaf but it was hard to get a waitress when I wanted a refill. The over easy eggs were not, and the bacon was way overcooked.
I didn't bother going back again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Solid Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We ate here in spite of the recent reviews and i have to say I do not agree with them wholeheartedly. Yes the restaurant is dark, but it works with the Western Steakhouse feel. It's intimate and it's quiet. We found the food to be very good. The steak was tender and tasty and cooked perfectly. The sides were excellent. The service was very friendly and timely.
Overall it was a solid meal and experience for Grand Falls and a small town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have eaten here many times and have always enjoyed it. There is a good choice of steak, an excellent in-house steak sauce and friendly and efficient staff. The steaks are always tasty and we enjoy the cosy western accented atmosphere. We have paid much more in big city steakhouses for no better food, options or service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount pearl, NL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Go to McDonald's instead. We ate at the steakhouse not Clem's, what can I say I felt like we were in a old cellar from a horror movie, dark, no windows, very dated! The waitress was rude and didn't seem like she wanted to be there....the food was like something you would get at ponderosa yet three times the price, small portions, and you wait an hour for them to cook it! Will not be returning to this hotel again, drive the extra hour and stay in Gander!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Peyton Hotel also viewed

Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland
Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland
 
Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland
Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland
 

Been to Mount Peyton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Peyton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.