We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat to your Saves list
The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1401 Muskoka Road 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R2, Canada (Formerly Days at the Lake B & B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great, quiet spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This bed and breakfast is beautiful. The grounds are lovely, full of flowers and birds. There are chairs in the garden to enjoy the beauty. The b&b has it's own lake entrance and there are kayaks, canoes, and a peddleboat to use free of charge. It's at the end of the lake, which makes it quiet and relaxing. The rooms were spacious and clean and the homemade breakfast was very good. We would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
86
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A great spot to get away from the city, less than a 2 hour drive and we felt a world away!
Was a fantastic weekend, fabulous location, very comfortable bed/pillows, very relaxing and helpful/fun hosts!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were looking for a last-minute mini-vacation and were fortunate enough to be able to spend 2 nights at this lovely B&B. Wendy was a great hostess who showed lots of concern for our well-being, such as asking ahead of time about food allergies. She made exquisite breakfasts that looked as good as they tasted. For guests staying in the 2 rooms that don't have an ensuite bathroom, bathrobes are provided which is nice since these rooms face the kitchen and dining room. Wendy was kind enough to let us keep our freezer packs and a couple of drinks in her fridge. Perhaps "Days At The Lake" could think about providing a small guest fridge so as not to inconvenience the hosts.
We loved having access to the dock on the lake shore, with many non-motorized watercraft available for our use. The dock is situated on a peaceful part of the lake, which made for a relaxed atmosphere as we lounged & swam for literally hours there. The rooms and the grounds are all beautifully maintained and we had glorious weather to enjoy all the colours. B&Bs on the waterfront are hard to find, so we were delighted to discover this treasure.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a great time. The rooms, breakfast and Hostess were fantastic. Lovely beach and lakes with great facilities. Will be back in the Autumn and or Winter. Other guests at the B and B were nice and friendly. Thank you Wendy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

A relative selected Days at the Lake for family attending a wedding nearby and he couldn't have made a better choice. The grounds are beautiful, peaceful and imaginatively decorated. Having access to the lake with canoes, kayaks and a peddle boat was another feature that we really appreciated, as was just relaxing on the dock with other family members. The B&B itself was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Finally, the concern shown by Wendy for the well-being for all members of the group was really appreciated. This would be my first choice for accommodation on a future trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My wife and I went back to this B & B for the 2nd time, cause we loved it so much the first time. The location, the facility, the warmth of Wendy & Steven cannot be match. The property is amazing, the lake is lovely, and the breakfast is the best ever. The wooden fireplace was truly appreciated by us and our bottle of wine. We are very excited about returning a third time. Good job Wendy & Steven.

Ken & Vera

Room Tip: Every room is spectular. We had an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting with Wendy and Stephen at their wonderful B&B, Days at the Lake. The accommodation was fantastic and the bed was unbelievably comfortable Days at the Lake has a beautiful dock, a paddle boat, canoe, rowboat and a 'floating' dock, The breakfasts were absolutely gourmet, tasty and so filling that I didn't need to eat anything until dinner. The grounds are beautiful with many flowers and lots of green grass. There is a fire pit, a patio, a hot tub. This B&B is great for all age groups, There is so much to do at Days at the Lake (which is on Pine Lake). Pine Lake is a small lake which leads out to Lake of Muskoka. I didn't see any motor boats so I wasn't nervous being in the paddle-boat, quite a distance from the shore. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this B&B as a place to visit for some quality R&R.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Two rooms have their own ensuite washroom. Two rooms share a washroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.2 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 7 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
18.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#4 of 7 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
8.1 mi away
Muskoka Riverside Inn
Muskoka Riverside Inn
#7 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat

Address: 1401 Muskoka Road 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R2, Canada (Formerly Days at the Lake B & B)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and Quiet lakefront property situated on one and a half acres with sandy beach, long dock, kayaks, canoes and paddleboat, outdoor bon fire pit, gravel sitting area with propane fire pit, outdoor courtyard with tables and Hot Tub. Extensive flower and vegetable gardens surround. Indoors features include four luxury guest rooms with Queen beds, large common area sitting/entertainment room, gourmet kitchen, Muskoka Room, with heated slate floors and wood-burning stove. Wi-Fi throughout. Full breakfast included. Minutes from the Muskoka Wharf, local attractions and other recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Muskoka Rose Guest House And Retreat Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.