We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B to recharge and have some wonderful R&R.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat to your Saves list
The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1401 Muskoka Road 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R2, Canada (Formerly Days at the Lake B & B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
“Wonderful B&B to recharge and have some wonderful R&R.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting with Wendy and Stephen at their wonderful B&B, Days at the Lake. The accommodation was fantastic and the bed was unbelievably comfortable Days at the Lake has a beautiful dock, a paddle boat, canoe, rowboat and a 'floating' dock, The breakfasts were absolutely gourmet, tasty and so filling that I didn't need to eat anything until dinner. The grounds are beautiful with many flowers and lots of green grass. There is a fire pit, a patio, a hot tub. This B&B is great for all age groups, There is so much to do at Days at the Lake (which is on Pine Lake). Pine Lake is a small lake which leads out to Lake of Muskoka. I didn't see any motor boats so I wasn't nervous being in the paddle-boat, quite a distance from the shore. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this B&B as a place to visit for some quality R&R.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Two rooms have their own ensuite washroom. Two rooms share a washroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
86
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our weekend started with a motorcycle ride through the Muskoka area with the final destination as Days at the Lake. The property is very beautiful and took full advantage of drinking the morning coffee on the dock. All the meals were cooked to perfection and we sleep comfortably. I recommend this escape location to anyone wanting to visit the Muskoka area.
R & M

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at this B and B with visiting relatives. it was our first time in Gravenhurst. The owners have created a beautiful sanctuary in the country with this B and B. There is a dock on a quiet, protected part of a lake down the hill from the B and B with ample canoes, kayaks and other Boats provided. The property is very-well maintained. It is full of the smell of pine trees and beautiful flowers. The owners also have extensive bird feeders that attract beautiful birds of all sorts. During breakfast, you can look at the sights and sounds of nature as you eat. Wendy's cooking is wonderful and creative. i would have gained ten pounds if I had stayed longer. the beds and pillows are very comfortable and everything is super clean. One note - the B and B does not allow street shoes inside (which i think is great), so bring slippers with you. If you forget, Wendy offers slippers on site, but you may want to bring your own.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable, the "ensuite" rooms definitely offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We both enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Days On The lake. It was even more than we expected, from the view to the, grounds,the spacious and inviting home,the sandy beach,with plenty to do.If you just want to relax pull up a Muskoka chair and just soak in the beauty of the lake.I can not leave out the gracious hosts Wendy and Steve who made us feel completely welcome in their home. We are planning our next visit

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great family stay here that gave us a small taste of the Muskoka cottage experience. The property was amazing with beautiful gardens and beach area. You can tell the hosts take pride in their property by the way it's maintained.
Breakfast was a work of art complete with edible flowers.
Our rooms were very comfy and all the details were taken care of for a peaceful nights sleep.
Despite less than stellar weather, we did make use of the kayak & canoe. I recommend getting out on the water around the lake.
The only thing that could have made our stay better, would be to stay longer!

Room Tip: We chose the 2 rooms that shared a bathroom & that was ideal for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Ar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am rating 5 stars only because I do not have the option to rate it 10 stars. There is no better place than Days at the Lake. Our weekend at Days at the lake was far beyond perfection. What better way to relieve the stress of the work week than to spend it in the warm hot tub with the most amazing views in all of Muskoka. Days at the Lake was built straight from the hearts of the most gracious owners, Wendy and Stephen. This was our 2nd trip to Days at the Lake and rest assured, there will be many more weekends spent there. Thank you Wendy for making us feel so special.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We chose Days at the Lake B&B because of the excellent reviews posted on Trip Advisor, and I can certainly see what everyone is raving about. The location is stunning, right on the water with a private beach, dock, floating dock... not to mention free use of kayaks, canoes and a paddle boat. It really cannot be beat for this alone, you are getting a place to stay, breakfast and tons of activities. Wendy and Stephen were gracious hosts, making you feel at home the second you got there. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, beautifully plated, expertly cooked, best french toast we have ever had. Wendy and Stephen also hosted nightly activities that the guests had the option of attending, the camp fire was very fun! The guest rooms are all placed off of the kitchen so you can hear the activity in the common areas when you are in your rooms. However, this was good for us as it got us out of bed in the morning and ready for the day.
thank you to Wendy and Stephen, you made our honeymoon romantic and memorable. If we don't get a chance to return before you move good luck in BC!

Room Tip: we definitely wanted an en suite bathroom for the privacy so consider this when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.2 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#4 of 7 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
18.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#3 of 7 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
8.1 mi away
Muskoka Riverside Inn
Muskoka Riverside Inn
#7 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat

Address: 1401 Muskoka Road 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R2, Canada (Formerly Days at the Lake B & B)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and Quiet lakefront property situated on one and a half acres with sandy beach, long dock, kayaks, canoes and paddleboat, outdoor bon fire pit, gravel sitting area with propane fire pit, outdoor courtyard with tables and Hot Tub. Extensive flower and vegetable gardens surround. Indoors features include four luxury guest rooms with Queen beds, large common area sitting/entertainment room, gourmet kitchen, Muskoka Room, with heated slate floors and wood-burning stove. Wi-Fi throughout. Full breakfast included. Minutes from the Muskoka Wharf, local attractions and other recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Muskoka Rose Guest House And Retreat Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.