We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this place out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat to your Saves list
The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1401 Muskoka Road 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R2, Canada (Formerly Days at the Lake B & B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check this place out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful place, on a beautiful lake. Great hosts, delicious breakfast, interesting and friendly guests, pretty wildlife (humming birds, turtles, etc.), spectacular star gazing. Loved the outdoor hot tub.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
86
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My Girlfriend & I went for 2 days to Days at the Lake B & B. We had the most wonderful time. Wendy and Steven are great hosts. They make you feel like family. The boat cruise was one of many highlights and for $10 was a heck of a deal. The breakfast was outstanding both mornings. We had a three course dinner the last night and was better than many much more expensive places I have been. I was able to use both the kayak and paddle boat and both were a blast. The hot tub was amazing and the jets were like a massage. Steven also made a great camp fire and we shared drinks and many funny stories with the hosts and another couple. Wendy was more than happy to give direction and recommendations to restaurants. They are both truly wonderful people and will make the trip top notch. Definitely will come back for a visit. I highly recommend Days at the Lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Days at the Lake this past weekend and can't wait to go back! We stayed for two nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Wendy and Stephen are fantastic hosts and they made us and the other guests feel so welcome. We spent our days enjoying the kayaks, paddle boat, (amazing) hot tub, and just enjoying the beautiful surroundings. I would highly recommend staying for more than one night so you can take advantage of everything this place has to offer. I would also recommend staying for one of Wendy's fantastic dinners! She cooked us and another couple her famous Kaluha Chicken, which was the best dinner I've had in a very long time. We would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Oh so suite" but all the rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this beautiful b&b on pine lake in august 2012. It feels insulting referring to it as a b&b because it felt like so much more. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. Wendy is a marvelous host and she went out of her way to ensure we had a super stay - and we did. Wendy's husband Stephen kindly took us out on his pontoon and give us really enjoyable cruise down the lake at sunset. The setting is incredible. We had a great weekend in the water - using the kayaks, the paddle boat, the rowing boat all laid out at their own dock. Wendy's breakfast in the morning are delicious and filling. Their hot tub is unbelievable - it even lights up different colours at night time. We couldn't recommend staying at Days at the Lake highly enough and we are planning a return visit to check the place out in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Wendy and Steve, the hosts of this great bed and breakfast, are great hosts who truly care their quests and provide them with great food, local inside information, and service. we stayed there for two nights, and the room was comfy and warm. the house itself is beautiful at the lakeside. the breakfasts were tasty bad Wendy brews her own coffee. a truly great experience, and we hope to give again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

As a single traveler I was comfortable, enjoyed the other guests and felt very much at home. Stephen and Wendy are wonderful hosts, interesting, helpful, warm people who make the experience what it is. The home and the property are beautiful, but relaxed and comfortable. As a testament to my enjoyment, I was lucky to be able to add another day to my original plans! Great food and very comfortable beds. Everything I needed was provided, I didn't need to ask for anything. I absolutely recommend it and plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wendy and Stephen are amazing hosts, sharing their home and everything their property has to offer. Breakfast is more than "continental", it is an amazing spread each morning, with 2- 3 courses. Wendy is an amazing cook! The boat tour is to die for, and at $10/person is the best deal in Gravenhurst - 2 hours on a private lake, with commentary. Perfect romantic getaway spot, or girls weekend away. Canoeing, Kayaking, Paddle Boating available, beautiful lake to swim in, or sit on the shore in a hammock, or on a swing, or a beach chair and read a book and relax. Wildlife to enjoy - chipmunks, squirrels, painted turtles, hummingbirds, woodpeckers, and if you are lucky on the boat tour you might see beavers, deer, bears etc... Just 5 minutes from Gravenhurst, Wendy and Stephen go out of their way to make your stay special. They have a homey feel about them, and treat you like family.

Room Tip: The Garden view rooms are further away from the entranceway and living area, so a little quieter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
169WendyE, Owner at The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for such a wonderful review. We enjoyed your company so much, down to earth and a sensational couple. And you won both days too <3 You are welcome anytime you need a get a way to our home here in Muskoka. Hugs xoxoxoxoxxo and hope to see you both soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.2 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 7 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#4 of 7 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
15.4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
8.1 mi away
Muskoka Riverside Inn
Muskoka Riverside Inn
#7 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat

Address: 1401 Muskoka Road 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R2, Canada (Formerly Days at the Lake B & B)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and Quiet lakefront property situated on one and a half acres with sandy beach, long dock, kayaks, canoes and paddleboat, outdoor bon fire pit, gravel sitting area with propane fire pit, outdoor courtyard with tables and Hot Tub. Extensive flower and vegetable gardens surround. Indoors features include four luxury guest rooms with Queen beds, large common area sitting/entertainment room, gourmet kitchen, Muskoka Room, with heated slate floors and wood-burning stove. Wi-Fi throughout. Full breakfast included. Minutes from the Muskoka Wharf, local attractions and other recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Muskoka Rose Guest House And Retreat Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muskoka Rose Guest House and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.