We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room was clean. employees mostly friendly. receptionest...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn

Howard Johnson Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1165 Muskoka Road South | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    22
    13
    11
See reviews for
27
16
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We enjoyed our night at this hotel as we were visiting a friend and she recommended this hotel. It gave us everything that was needed for a good overnight accommodation. Comfortable room and very quiet, great assortment of pillows to choose. Air conditioning was a blessing, slept great. Very close to stores, restaurants that you can walk downtown. Breakfast is not included which would be nice if it was. Into the future this hotel could use a more modern renovation done to it, as it is in a great visible location. Could be even bigger, as it was completely booked when we arrived. We booked online as it was very simple to do and the best way to make sure you get a room. We will go there again. Gravenhurst is a beautiful place to visit. Staff were very welcoming and ready to serve in any way.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

It was somewhere to sleep and that's about it. It is not the best HoJos by any means. The place needs a total revamp. Having said that it was average. The sheets were clean as were the towels .The rooms could be cleaned better over all but if all you need is a room and you are off exploring and enjoying the area it will do. There are several other motels locally owned that are a better bet for your money but reserve them early!

Room Tip: Is there really a good room. I think all are just average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

An affordable place in a pricey area. For the price I am happy with what we got, typical two star slightly older HoJo. Very puffy pillows (we should have asked the front desk for some flatter but arrived late and were tired). This was just an overnight accommodation for us after dropping our son at summer camp. Did not like the smell of smoke in the halls, alllthough our non-smoking room was ok. 3 stars for what it is - a two star affordable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petes
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here to attend wedding at Bala. prices ridiculous in Bala I mean really its not Monaco. good value clean rooms had fridge and everything you needed. Ask about big rock in lobby good story. Close to all stores and Petes players. They were almost empty. Should offer better price and really good deals. At say 60 they could fill the place with food and or entertainment packages. PS For the review that said the heat was hard to get at because of the shelf. Try using the thermostat on the wall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I just returned from spending May 17 and May 18 at the above hotel. I was rather 'wary' of some of the reviews however, after researching other accommodations within the area - it appeared there was little middle ground... The 'elite' (which unfortunately Muskoka is becoming) were rather ridiculously priced for - 'after all' - just a nice bed to sleep on - ($200 AND UP...) A small run down Oak Something motel across the street from HoJo was the only option other than B&Bs in the area... And motels I would rather not consider...

I only booked ONE NIGHT at HJ. The room was immaculately clean, well laid out and had everything I would require! I could "wish for larger windows, a softer bed, however, in the 'Grand Scheme of Things'? {If that is SO all important***stay home!} SO, I BOOKED A SECOND NIGHT RIGHT ON THE SPOT! By the time my little dog and I drove to all the gorgeous sights and beaches every day- soaked up the sun- ate picnic lunches, enjoyed Muskoka - WELL - (OH YES, THEY TAKE SMALL DOGS - AND ARE VERY DECENT ABOUT IT) - My dog and I were 'bagged' and just wanted to enjoy the comforts the room provided, There is a microwave and refrigerator. A REALLY good shower, an impressive Flat Screen TV AND...an individual coffee maker for one cup only and it actually makes a heck of a cup of coffee!

Piles of brochures, pamphlets, booklets and FREE NEWSPAPERS EVERY DAY which are super to peruse on a park bench at one of the various gorgeous beaches around. There is no continental breakfast but, there are SO MANY DARNED OPTIONS AVAILABLE - who cares???? Have your coffee, clean up and ENJOY ONE OF THE BEST PLAYGROUNDS MOTHER NATURE EVER INVENTED!!!!

Jump all over this if you can (while it is there). You can't beat the price and cleanliness! Oh Wait until you see the lobby - what a trip! Realize that you are not at a 5* at the get go! Enjoy the area!

Piles of parking, Quiet and tranquil at night. Open the window, enjoy the clean Muskoka air!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn

Address: 1165 Muskoka Road South | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gravenhurst
Howard Johnson Gravenhurst
Gravenhurst Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.