We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel itself is rather old and tired and the rooms and...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1165 Muskoka Road South | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Gravenhurst
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    12
    13
    11
See reviews for
18
16
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I reserved 2 rooms - 101 and 120. My elderly guests from Ohio were very pleased with their oversize room - 101. Both rooms were very clean and presentable , A/C was working well , bathrooms were spotless , and the beds were very comfortable.
I would highly recommend your Inn to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location in Gravenhurst. Front desk staff was excellent and very helpful. Stayed 2 nights, however my room was not cleaned after the first night. Room lamps were in need of repair. Room was large and spacious but quite dated. Air conditioner was noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stopped by for a night while visiting in Gravenhurst and was pleased with the value in comparison to price. For $100 plus tax on a Saturday night, a large room with fridge, microwave and all amenities, it was worth the price in comparison to staying at other places in the area which are more expensive but don't offer much more for someone who just wants a place to crash.

A step up from some Muskoka hotels but not on the higher end for the area. Fully stocked with all the basics plus coffee. Quiet and comfortable. The lady at the front desk was very nice. LCBO, Tim Hortons and grocery store nearby among other fast food and convenience stores. The restaurant attached to hotel seems a bit overpriced at $15 for an average burger and fries but no big deal.

Smoking rooms are available if that is of interest to you, or if it may deter you.

Will definitely return a few times coming back to the area this summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay . The room was adequate but the bedspreads were stained and dirty and the carpet as well. The railing in the stairwell was loose. It was advertised that there was a continental breakfast but we were told no. Our room on the second day was not made up until 2pm and the tub was not cleaned. We were on the second floor and we have health and mobility problems, but that is our fault for not asking for a main floor room. The restaurant attached was pricey and only open at certain times. Very inconvenient. I think perhaps we will find someplace else to stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn

Address: 1165 Muskoka Road South | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gravenhurst
Howard Johnson Gravenhurst
Gravenhurst Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.