We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music in Gravenhurst” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn

Howard Johnson Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1165 Muskoka Road South | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    24
    16
    11
See reviews for
31
17
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powassan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As a business traveler, I've often stayed at this property and can attest that it is not only good value for the money, but the rooms are spacious, clean and provide a good working environment for after hours report writing (wireless connection). The staff have always treated me very well and are anxious to provide any assistance needed. The attached restaurant provides excellent meals at reasonable prices and there is a "Tim Hortons" within walking distance for those coffee drinkers who crave that brand.
Overall, I would rate this hotel facility as very good.
Don Pearo
TransCanada Pipelines

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quality hotel in the Gravenhurst area, but don't want to "break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nov.3rd

It was my first time staying in HoJo, most of them get bad rep. But I have to say, very impress with the hotel. Easily located off Hwy 11. Cannot miss it, it is right next to “Gravenhurst signature welcome” and the “big yellow muskoka chair”. It has fair size parking lot and the lobby has a nice touch to it and comfortable waiting area. The hotel do not serve breakfast, but a restaurant is attach that serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and a Tim Horton is few mins walking. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, with queen beds, had a fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron\board, these were a big pluses for me and everything work. The heat was good, cannot complain. T.V was great, sharp and clear reception, lot of channels to choose, no snowy reception like some other hotels. I had no complain about the wash room, it was tidy and clean. The beds were very comfortable, I overheard another customer saying to the reception he had a great sleep and the bed was more comfy than his. What I really like about the hotel, it was very quiet for my one night, no outside noise in hallway or next door, no cleaning staff shouting with each other at 7am. I guess it was the time of the year, it was not busy. I enjoyed my stay, will recommend it and will stay again if need to. My only peeve , wish if they had provided more bath towels.

Room Tip: I had a choice to choose from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

There is all to do around this hotel. Shopping for whole family is near by. Staff were very friendly and rooms very clean. Price is perfect! We came to see family and needed a reasonable place to stay that was close by and it was a perfect match for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I liked everything in the room and the comfort of the beds. I am an exhibiter at shows in town and I have enough show costs and the $70.00 for a single room was a welcome site!
Continental breakfast would be great , but Tims was down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn

Address: 1165 Muskoka Road South | Highway 11 and 169, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gravenhurst
Howard Johnson Gravenhurst
Gravenhurst Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.