We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taboo Resort

Save Saved
You added Taboo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taboo Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 Muskoka Beach Road | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Muskoka Slumber Party
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Gravenhurst
Seal Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent three days here and everything was wonderful. The food was out of this world. The views stunning. The personnel unbelievably polite, personable, and engaging. The bedroom with balcony beautifully modern. The bathroom a study in modern design. Hats off to General Manager Yannis Paravalos and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Pamela,

thank you for your fantastic review, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards

Yannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    61
    34
    23
    27
See reviews for
63
116
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first weekend at Taboo this month and we were absolutely blown away. The resort is gorgeous - the views, the lake, the rooms, spa, mountain biking, pools, tennis courts, everything.

We ended our weekend with the spa, which was fabulous. The facilities were spotless and had all the amenities you need - eucalyptus steam sauna, showers, relaxation area, etc.

The service was excellent as well... Great food... We really had no complaints.

We were very impressed and we will certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Nrg

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am thrilled to hear that your long weekend was a great one and that we were a part of it. We very much look forward to having you back again.

Take care
Yannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay! The service was wonderful and room service was great. Everyone was very kind and door greeter Jake and Courtney were very welcoming! Rooms were modern and clean and exactly what we were looking for. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for posting your review as it’s always nice to receive feedback and let my staff know that their hard work isn’t going unnoticed.

Thanks again
Yannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Service was great - Brandon at lobby was very helpful and ensured we had everything we needed. Spa treatment was friendly and relaxing - good value for money. Room was modern, clean, and beautiful - had a great view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at Taboo with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and hope you will be back again.

Sincerely
Yannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Taboo Resort in Gravenhurst is great fun for the whole family.

The Activities Staff did an amazing job keeping parents as well as kids entertained.

Their outdoor winter sports program included skating, shiny hockey, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, sledding, hiking and more.

The resort is easy to get around and staff are very helpful and friendly.

The food at the Pub was delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a condo unit and it was very spacious, comfortable beds, close to all amenities and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for joining us over the first winter season that we’ve been open in almost 10 years. We are glad that the whole family enjoyed themselves and the many activities that we offered. I hope that you can make it back during the summer months to try out some of our waterfront activities as well.

Thanks again and hope to see you all soon!
Yannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Once again we visited Taboo. After missing a year because of date conflicts, we returned this year for our 8th annual Denis Masse Invitational atTaboo. The experience although interrupted by snow on our first day, was nothing short of excellent. The staff was a usual friendly and helpful and the service was as expected and above par. The changes made to the Fireside Pub add a nice touch to the experience.

Congrats to Ryan (and his staff), Wendy and Charlene for another outstanding 2 day events. We are looking froward to next year already!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Habsfan56

I am glad to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay and didn’t let the snow get you down. I’ll be sure to let the staff you mentioned above know that they played a key part in making your stay another memorable one.

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Yannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just visited Taboo with my Mother for a Mother's Day Treat. It was absolutely wonderful.

First stop was at the brand new spa. It is perfectly appointed, well designed and clean and crisp. The treatment rooms were fantastic. The all organic product line was excellent. I just loved my 2 hours of treatments and the service was top notch.

Next we headed for lunch at Elements with a window seat looking at Lake Muskoka. The dining room is very nicely designed, comfortable, has great views with lots of windows and most excellent service. The food was perfect. The menu includes Gluten Free, Vegan and Raw choices. Very well received!

We check into our 2 bedroom suite, complete with kitchenette, livingroom and fireplace....and a balcony! ... all of this looking at the lake. I believe this room might be the best in the resort. Book room #601.

We had a nice walk around the resort and along the beach. There are also mapped trails for walking.

Dinner was fantastic. The sunset was the icing on the cake. Again the service was superb.

The beds were soooo comfortable! I had the most dreamy sleep.

Another meal for Mother's Day Brunch and it was great. Oysters, omelettes, roasts, smoked fish, salads and more.

We really loved Taboo and all of the friendly and hard working staff. I highly recommend a stay here. I wish we had another night!

Room Tip: Room #601 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis P, General Manager at Taboo Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest

We wish you had another night too! Thank you for joining us to celebrate mother’s day! I am happy to hear that you had a great sleep on our new beds and that you enjoyed the menu choices as well as the buffet brunch. We do hope that you will join us again next year (or sooner)!

Yannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taboo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboo Resort

Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Road | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations, championship golf, polished spa, summer Culinary Theatre dinner event, refined meeting spaces and exceptional location. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and snowmobiling to guided trail and boating adventures with Resident Naturalist Robin Tapley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Taboo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taboo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.