We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location on the wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf to your Saves list
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Steamship Bay Road, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
MIAMI
Top Contributor
818 reviews 818 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Nice location on the wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Every suite has a balcony, most with a lake view and some suites have fireplaces. The location is across from the boat and heritage museum and on the wharf, where you can walk to many restaurants. My usual complaint about Residence Inns are their Lightweight comforters, especially in cold climates. They should have lightweight ones in warm climates and heavier ones in cold climates.
Breakfast was fine and hotel personnel were accommodating. The social hours left a lot to be desired. For BBQ, they served hot dogs on buns, with pickles and onions and absolutely nothing to go with them, like baked beans, cole slaw, or potato salad. They had pretzels and chocolate chip cookies, that were burnt and sodas. No Residence Inn that we have stayed in, EVER SERVED JUST HOT DOGS. EITHER DO IT WHOLEHEARTEDLY, OR DON'T SERVE IT AT ALL ! ESPECIALLY IF YOU SERVE THEM IN A DOUBLE CHAFING DISH AND ONE DISH IS EMPTY.
The night before, they had a heavy cream soup, frisee salad, pretzels and raisin cookies, so we didn't partake. They are big on pretzels as an accompaniment to everything.

Room Tip: request a lakeview and a fireplace room, especially if the weather is cold and rainy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    83
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
99
140
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed here one night for business, when i arrived I was told I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite. What a beautiful room! Full kitchen, living room, huge bedroom. I wished i was staying more than one night! There is no restaurant on site but there is a Boston Pizza around the corner- and if it was nicer weather would have been a nice walk but I drove. I am sure that place is just beautiful in the summer, being right on the water. I used the gym and pool facilities and had the place to myself. All of the fitness equipment have TVs attached. The only downside was the breakfast wasnt that great the next morning. They even let me have a late checkout the next day. Very friendly staff! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I would like to start off by saying that I have been to a lot of marriott hotels in my past, but none beats this one. we stayed three days during the March break, and found it very clean and comfortly furnished, although i do have to admit, the beds where very hard and firm. The room was allways stalked with fresh towels, linen, toiletries,and more. Our room even had a kitchenette that was well equipted with spoons, forks, knives, microwave, stove, ice box, dishwasher, and table. Even though it was cold (+7) we still enjoyed the view off our belcony as we where facing the water (water was frozen over), at the front of the hotel, 3rd floor, above the lobby. the area Gravenhurst is absolutley breathtaking. The town is cute and has many historic looking cottages lining the main street getting in to Gravenhurst. The rocky setting, snow covered cottages, and snowmobile acess all set the mood. the second day we where there we decided to go taboganing, so we asked the receptionest at the desk. she pointed out a really good (or so she says) hilly park in Bracebridge. we ended up not finding the park so instead ended up coming across a vacant parking lot with a big snow bank. That was enough for the kids. we also enjoyed the large pool in the hotel and ofcorse the HOT TUB! breakfast was complementry and was pretty basic eggs, sausages, waffels, toast, cereal... ect. all in all we enjoyed our stay and will definantly go bach in the summer when Lake Muskoka is actually VISIBLE.

Room Tip: recomend lake view, on front of hotel, on higher level because it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We decided to stay here after a day of tubing at Snow Valley. It's about an hour away, but we wanted to stay somewhere different, and we are so glad we did.

We checked in and found out we were upgraded to a Lakeview Suite. It's winter, but still offered a pretty view. We also had a handwritten note waiting for us because we are Marriott Rewards members. What a nice touch. The front desk staff were so friendly and warm. And it felt genuine. The girl that checked us in is originally from Germany. I'm only noting this because I didn't get her name and wanted to commend her for her outstanding service.

We went into our room and were instantly impressed. We had a one-bedroom King suite. It was huge. We had a full kitchen complete with full oven. Great sitting area and a fireplace. The bedroom is a little ways off the living area, which really helps with noise levels if you have a night owl wanting to watch TV (which we did). The bedroom was huge. Tons of room. We had 3 closets in our room. I really wish we were staying more than one night.

The pool area was quite big, too. Larger pool than many hotels and also had a hot tub. Needed that after a day of tubing.

Breakfast was great. Lots of variety and everything was replenished quickly. Once again, I can't say enough how friendly the staff was.

You will not regret staying here. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's a nice clean place, near an outdoor skating rink. Love the idea they have a kitchen, however disappointed that our room didn't have an oven even though it states all rooms have full kitchens. So a lot of the food I brought for the family didn't get used.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate your business.

Studio Suites offer a kitchen including full sized fridge, dishwasher, microwave and range top with full plates/glasses and cutlery.

Our hotel offers ovens in our two bedroom suites and stove-top in the smaller room types. I do apologize if this information was not communicated prior to your booking.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback. It gives us the opportunity to make corrections where needed.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Ewart, ON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Five of us shared two rooms for one night during a five night snowmobiling tour. The rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. The included breakfast quite good. The "snowmobiling" rate was very attractive. The staff were professional but friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a mid-winter get-away over the Family Day weekend and we were very pleased.
We had a one-bedroom queen studio overlooking the lake. Our room was very comfortable and clean. There were plenty of towels, the bed was very comfortable and everything was in working order. When we checked in, I was given an envelope with my name on it. When we got into the room and I opened it, it was a hand-written welcome because I'm a Marriott rewards member! I've never had that level of service!
The breakfast was good and plentiful, even though the hotel was full. They had eggs, sausage, waffles, french toast, hash browns, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc.
The only minor inconvenience was parking. The hotel was filled with snowmobilers who took 2 and 3 parking spots...one for their truck, one for their trailer and in some cases a third for their snowmobile. With all the snow piled up as well, it made parking a bit tight, but we were always able to find a spot.
All in all, I was very impressed with this location and the staff. It was a great winter get-away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to create a great guest experience and nice to hear when we have succeeded. We hope to see you on a future visit to Muskoka.

Thank you so much,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Address: 285 Steamship Bay Road, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest Muskoka Hotel and situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka offering guest complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.