We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf to your Saves list
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Steamship Bay Road, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Superb hotel in a superb location.

Our room was very clean with gas fire and balcony with stunning views over the frozen lake.

Great kitchen included in the room for those on an extended stay. The sofa bed was easy to pull out.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Still set us up nicely for the day.

The pool and hot tub were clean and again, a great way to start the day.

Staff friendly.

Room Tip: A lakeside view is great. The sun comes over the heading in the morning and it's a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    83
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
99
140
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have been to this hotel several times for business and they never disappoint. Setting is fantastic, even in the winter but spectacular in summer. In winter the one problem is lack of restaurant, and that is a real issue. Only one chain pizza spot nearby. Daily breakfast provided is adequate but not at all special. If you want a nice room it will more than please.

Room Tip: Summer guests can be on water but pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here 1 night in February. Would have stayed longer if committments didn't prevent us ! Received the OFSC rate as we were there to snowmobile for the 2 days. Arrived by 11:00 a.m. and our room was ready, as requested. Requested a late checkout (noon)... no problem!
We had a 1 bedroom lakefront suite. Very clean, spacious and well appointed. Kitchen was perfect, even an ice maker in the freezer. Desk and office chair. Comfortable pull out couch and very comfy chair with ottoman, which I enjoyed beside the fireplace, looking out at the lake. Had a balcony.. but it was way too cold for that.
Roomy bathroom and the king size bed, in it's own room was great. Design could be better - you have to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom... but wasn't a big deal.
The staff were all very friendly. Pool looked very nice, but we didn't use it. The lounge is great, with a TV, comfy chairs, fireplace and a couch - just off the lobby. Lots of free parking - right at the warf. Several restaurants and a spa within walking distance.
Loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here because we had to go to family event near by, It was most resonable price in the area. what we got was over the top. We reserved the Lake view Suite, 1 Bedroom Suite, 1 King, Sofabed, Lake view, Fireplace, Balcony on line. We got a huge suite with a full kitchen. Very freindly staff and one the best breakfast at suite hotle included with the price.. If we had to stay in the area again. My sister had the sudio room and it was just as big for about $20 less but we went with the one bedroom because i snore.

Room Tip: if you just need a studio it is just as big and about $ 20 less/night. Great views from the lake sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf this past weekend for a quick getaway from the city.

No issues whatsoever at check-in, and got exactly what I had reserved (one-bedroom, lakeview suite). The suite itself was fantastic - extremely clean and well equipped. The fact that this hotel is fairly new really shows, and it is obviously well kept.

The lakeview left a little to be desired (it was mostly parking lot) but I was prepared for that from reading other reviews. We also both found the bed to be a bit uncomfortable, but again, that may be a personal preference thing. Certainly nothing fundamentally wrong with it.

Our room was at the end of the hall next to a stairwell, and we did hear the door to the stairwell every time it shut, though this didn't affect the quality of our stay at all. I got excellent service from the staff - I was making dinner in our room on Saturday night and called the front desk to ask if there was an extra cookie sheet available and one was promptly brought to my door.

The included breakfast was great too, and the free wifi was a nice bonus.

The hotel's location truly is right on the wharf, though, which is great. The lake was entirely frozen, and covered in a foot of snow (courtesy of Friday's snowstorm). It was great fun to wander out into the bay for a different perspective on the wharf.

The wharf was busy this weekend with a pond hockey tournament and a pile of snowmobilers taking advantage of the frozen lake. It made for good entertainment.

Overall, we had a great weekend and hope to go back up in the summer to see a whole different side of Gravenhurst!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here only for one night but I will definitely return with my children to enjoy all that it has to offer. My room was fantastic! Very clean, with a great use of space. It includes a full kitchen with full size appliances including a dishwasher, a table and chairs for dining, a desk, a seating area to watch television, a comfortable king size bed and a nice bathroom facility. The television is on a swivel so you have the choice of watching it in the seating area or swinging it around to view in bed. The room was very clean, as was the whole building. Wifi is free of charge. My room was right next to the elevator, I didn't hear it once through the night and I usually am a light sleeper
The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous, from the front desk staff to the lovely lady who ran the morning breakfast (Sorry I forget her name but she is a doll!)
I saw the pool and hot tub but was unable to use it (forgot my suit), but they were very clean and inviting.
Morning breakfast - included with your stay. It was great! Scrambled eggs, turkey bacon, pancakes, potato patties, make it yourself waffles with real blueberries, strawberry topping, syrup and whipped cream, assorted cereals, baked goods, assorted breads to toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, tea, coffee. The dining area is nice and open, offers a couple different morning newspapers. There was never a mess as the breakfast gal was right on top of things.
The location is right on the lake so you have the choice of lakeview or parking lot view. It is close to some shops, the wharf with the big ferries and restaurants. It's a stunning area, especially in the summer!
I'm looking forward to going back up to the area at the end of March and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Residence inn Marriott Muskoka Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were at this property over the NYE weekend for 3 nights. We had a choice of going to JW Marriott which is at a higher category within the Marriott family but they don't allow pet. Also this location is an extended stay type that has a full kitchen. We were very pleased upon arrival. Everyone at front desk was very helpful and friendly. I love small town folks, always nice without attitude. We brought our lovely bengal cat with us, and she always got a lot of attention whereever she goes.

1) CLEAN! I can't say enough aobut this. We have a 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen (full-size oven + fridge with ice maker). Super clean through-out and pretty updated look. You would say country chic. I have stayed in many other Residence Inn before, and I would say this one comes out on the top because it is not cheap looking, and have a sophisicated style with their choice of interior design for what it is

2) Pet-friendly. We were surprised that there were quite a few guests who brought their pets with them. Now you do have to pay $100 one time fee for that. But they treat pet with respect. Our cleaning lady even wrote us a note stating she didn't vacuum the place because our cat didn't like the noise much. Also on our last day, we won't be back to the hotel until 6pm which way pasted check-out time, and we didn't want to bring our cat around and let her wait in the car on her own in cold winter. Hotel manager let our cat stay in a large office while we were out and about (after we checked out our room at 1pm)

3) Very nice surrounding: The hotel is located right by the lake, and there is a nice walk on either side of the hotel (boardwalk to restaurants/shops) or the other side of hiking trail. We took our cat to the hiking trail and she loved it. She was a head-turner of course as most people don't see cat being walked, not to mention a little cat looking like a leppard/tiger walking on snow. We took some amazing pictures

Breakfast was adequent, and they also have a pool with jucuzzi. We cooked a few nights in our suite which were nice. They had everything we needed including a dish washer. We made a mistake of having our NYE dinner at Taboo Resort, which was overpriced and nothing to write home about. We should have stayed in our suite and cooked our home meal.

Overall, this is a lovely property and would definitely come back for the summer! It will just be beautiful.

Room Tip: Lake view, higher floor, away from elevator, with balcony, 2bd/2bth for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan_wickremasinghe, General Manager at Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn by Marriott Muskoka Wharf. It was our pleasure....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Address: 285 Steamship Bay Road, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest Muskoka Hotel and situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka offering guest complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.