We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Gravenhurst” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Bay

The Inn on Bay
Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Inn on Bay to your Saves list
The Inn on Bay
291 Bay Street, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Gravenhurst B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Gravenhurst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a motorcycle road trip, the last night of which we spent in Gravenhurst at the Inn on Bay. We are glad we chose to stay here, and we will definitely return.

The owners, Jen and Tyler, are friendly, down-to-earth, and have excellent taste.

The rooms are pristine - clean and spacious. The house is beautiful. When you first enter the house, you feel the charm of the house which must have been built at the turn of the century. Lovely decor, tasteful music. Coffee and tea were available, along with home-made cookies (which were fantastic!)

When we came down for breakfast in the morning, a fresh fruit salad was served with yogurt and granola, as well as coffee and juice. Both my wife and I thought this was splendid (and more than enough!) - then Jen asked what type of omelettes we wanted! The food was great, the service impeccable, the atmosphere left nothing to be desired.

Location-wise, it's about a 10 minute walk to the wharf and about 3-4 minutes to the downtown area, so it's really perfectly centrally located.

Highly recommended. On our trip we stayed at other venues at similar prices that paled in comparison.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were recently in Gravenhurst to attend a wedding and stayed at The Inn on Bay. Loved it! Jen was a fabulous hostess, the room was beautiful and the breakfasts were so good. We lucked out and got the Muskoka suite, which meant a sitting room and en suite. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Jen's breakfasts were delicious: day one granola, yoghurt and fresh fruit, followed by an omelet, day two fruit and french toast with blueberries. I would certainly stay there again should I ever be in the area.

Room Tip: Muskoka suite, all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the Inn on Bay during our nine weeks trip around the US and Canada. Now that our journey is over, we can say that the Inn on Bay was one of the best if not THE best accomodation we stayed at. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts are so warmhearted people. We only stayed one night but we would have loved to stay longer and we hope that we will have the opportunity to come back one day. We would absolutely recomend this Inn to anyone who loves to stay at a beautiful small Inn.
Celestina & Daniel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our last stop on our summer vacation this year was at The Inn on Bay in Gravenhurst. What a wonderful place!! The bed and breakfast is lovely, the hosts are friendly and accommodating, and the food was terrific. John and Suzanne also directed us to William (at "Tour Muskoka Lakes") who provided a beautiful boat cruise. They very much deserve high praise and the great ratings that we and others have given them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We made our annual trip to The Muskokas and stayed, once again, at The Inn on Bay - our fourth visit. It is a lovely B&B with very nice rooms, great breakfasts, and of course, wonderful hosts. It is situated within walking distance of Muskoka Wharf and the main street of Gravenhurst. Our only regret is that we missed seeing Jen, Tyler and their children but had the pleasure of meeting Susan and John (and Sookie!) this time around. We look forward to returning in 2014! David and Barbara

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the Inn for a couple days in November and it was great! A quiet little weekend away from the city and our hosts were fantastic.. I would send friends and go again myself without hesitation..

Room Tip: The suit with its own semi-private bathroom is likely to be different then you might think off the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean, comfortable and a delicious breakfast. The location is great and very central for exploring any Muskoka lake. The rooms are all spacious, quiet and have their own washrooms. A great spot for anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Bay

Address: 291 Bay Street, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn On Bay in Gravenhurst offers boutique inn accommodation in the Muskoka region! Enjoy a short walk to the Muskoka wharf, steamship cruises, Heritage Museum, downtown Gravenhurst, Gull Lake & Bethune House. A Georgian-style retreat featuring casual elegance, Muskoka style. Hot breakfast served daily, wireless high speed internet, en-suite bathrooms, guest computer terminal, sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn on Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Bay Gravenhurst, Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.