We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appetit Food for Thought

Appetit Food for Thought
534 First Avenue, Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 924-1321
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Ladysmith
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Restaurant details
Ladysmith, Canada
1 review
“Incredible food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

By far the best restaurant in Ladysmith. The food is prepared all fresh and from scratch in front of your very eyes by the friendly owner who clearly loves what he does. The menu is constantly evolving but is always delicious. The soups are absolutely to die for. Every meal here has been exceptional. The place is very small but has a sort of homey appeal to it. Not to mention it is very cheap for it's quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Asian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our food was extremely tasty, good variety, huge portions, The ingredients were fresh and the service was great. The owner/chef is friendly and wants to make sure the patrons are 100% happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This small restaurant serves fabulous soups, along with fresh stir fries, and some interesting breakfast dishes. The owner will gladly substitute items to your liking, and the prices are very reasonable. There are not too many places where you can get an excellent, filling 2 course lunch for under $10! I would highly recommend this place for a nice lunch when you are visiting Ladysmith.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We finally figured out that this restaurant has limited hours so we finally got there on a day they were open. We found out later that they are only open Mon to Thurs from 8:30am to 2:30pm, but it was well worth waiting for. We each had one of the two specials, which was made fresh and was delicious. There are a lot of menu items posted on the wall so I missed some that I may have ordered instead but, better reason to go back. The chef was cooking in the front of the restaurant so you could clearly see the care he was taking. The waiter (/owner?) was fun and very attentive but not annoyingly. We returned a couple of weeks later for breakfast and it was a plate overflowing with eggs done the way you like, homemade hashbrowns, toast, baked beans, small salad, and at least six slices of bacon! My husband was in heaven and I have to say that I was pretty happy as well. It is indeed a treasure of Ladysmith. You should go!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, BC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting and very fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I found this restaurant by chance and enjoyed an Asian beef/scallop dish with excellent vegetables. It was prepared in front of us from scratch with skill and enjoyment. The place is small and busy and is only open for breakfast and lunch, but well worth a try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appetit Food for Thought also viewed

Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
 
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
Ladysmith, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Appetit Food for Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appetit Food for Thought, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.