We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Garden B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Garden B & B to your Saves list
Beachside Garden B & B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Gabriola Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful location! Interested and interesting hosts! Was willing to drop us off to dinner and pick us up. Loved that we were kayakers. Would stay here again! A great kayaking destination. Wonderful to kayak and stay at an oceanside B&B

Room Tip: Stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It's exciting for us that you kayaked all the way from Gabriola Island. We admire your energy and stamina. We didn't like the thought that you have to find your way back to our B&B in the dark in the ocean after having dinner. We enjoyed your company. Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great review. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
149
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Others have touched on all the character of the location, the quality of the accomodation, the deliciousness of the breakfasts, and the charm of the hosts, and we have little to add!

This bed and breakfast is a stunning standout. It would be impossible to be unhappy with a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so happy that you chose to stay with us. We have enjoyed your company and are glad to get to know you - two very genuine people. Thank you so much for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hosts are very accommodating and friendly. Their house and grounds are lovely. It is right on the bay with a great view. Also has the occasional wildlife sighting. They have a very nice grill for guest use. Which is great for making meals to eat while enjoying the waterfront. The breakfast is amazing. The best we have ever had at a B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are tremendously happy that you enjoyed the ocean side dining with our grill, together with the wildlife sightings, feasting the eyes as well as the palate. Thank you so much for staying with us and for your very flattering review. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Verna and Warren met us with welcoming smiles and a glass a wine. The setting is vabulous! A beautiful home right on the water, with gardens and outdoor seating everywhere. The room had an ocean view and was very comfortable and private. The breakfast was unbelievable! Our only regret was that we had only one night there - we hope to return again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It was so very nice having you stay with us, and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed our accommodation and breakfast. We have enjoyed your company and conversations; and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived to find Verna & Warren very welcoming, greeting us with a drink, nibbles and local information. The position of the property overlooking the ocean is spectacular. We had the pleasure of seeing otters feeding their young whilst we enjoyed a sumptious breakfast on the patio. We have no hesitation of recommending this wondeful B & B on the beautiful Vancouver island.

Sean & Amanda
Yorkshire
England

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. What a wonderful sight it was to see the otters feeding their young - a bonus to the spectacular ocean view. We hope you'll return to our beautiful Vancouver Island and visit us some day. It was really nice meeting you and we have enjoyed your company, albeit short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just spend 3 days at this BB and it was excellent in every regard. Warm and welcoming hosts, amazing views, immaculate and clean room and house, great beach and water, convenient boat access, high class cuisine and most importantly VERY relaxing and peaceful, ...we were able to relax and recharge even with a high energy 6 year old boy, thank you Verna and Warren! we highly recommend your place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Wow, what a very prompt, succinct and flattering review. Thank you so much. It was a real pleasure having you and your very smart 6 year old boy. We are happy that you had a relaxing and peaceful time here. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were traveling together as two couples and were fortunate enough to have reserved rooms with Verna and Warren for late August. Our arrival was met with warm smiles, and Verna called each of us by first name and even noted I had mentioned my dislike of tomatoes! The accommodations were very relaxing with several areas for eating, talking, or just watching the day pass. We met another couple traveling as well, and as we talked into the night Verna stepped outside to provide coffee before quietly slipping away. The location is off the beaten path - perfect for escaping a hectic daily schedule. We were very sad to leave and would love to have spent a week with these wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms have a quick view of the water and would be a good choice. The Magnolia room is closest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It was very nice meeting all four of you. To ensure that everyone has as wonderful an experience with us as can be, it is important that we know each person's likes or dislikes. Thank you so much for letting us know in advance. We are very pleased that we didn't disappoint. Yes, this is a very relaxing place to escape the hustle and bustle of daily schedules. We hope you would return to stay with us again, next time for a longer period. We sincerely thank you for giving us this fantastic review. It is very kind of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Garden B & B

Address: 3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachside Garden B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice 2014 Winner......Walk-on beach oceanfront luxury home with spectacular ocean view and an acre of exquisite ornamental garden, our B&B is custom built with your comfort in mind, and is wheelchair accessible. It is located in beautiful Yellow Point area, on the east side of Ladysmith Harbor. Elegantly decorated, each room has ocean view, queen bed, private en-suite, TV, air-conditioning and WiFi Internet. This is paradise for scuba-divers, kayakers, swimmers, sunbathers and gardeners. A place to relax and to rejuvenate. We pamper you with scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachside Garden B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Garden B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.