We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chowder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Shaker Deli

Salt Shaker Deli
Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Lunenburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The "girls" headed to Lunenburg for a pre-Christmas chat/eat/shopping trip. We were all pleased with the meal we had at the Salt Shaker Deli. I had the seafood chowder which was very good. The others had a breakfast plate that they too enjoyed. Service was friendly and the coffee was refilled intuitively! I believe this is a seasonal place, so I look forward to returning when it re-opens in the Spring.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    113
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food and Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had mussels and haddock chowder followed by apricot bread pudding that were excellent. They have a nice seating area outside on a deck overlooking the harbor. It was a nice evening enjoying good food, a very nice view and pleasant surroundings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great eats! Eggs Benedict w/Salmon and hollandaise sauce the way it should be made. Our visit was brief and this little restaurant certainly made it memorable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a good place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Salt Shaker is one of the places I visit the most in Lunenburg. A large portion of the menu consists of sandwiches and personal pizzas, both of which come in a wide variety of interesting tastes. It is a fairly small venue, which can get quite warm, but also has a great patio for summertime meals. Prices top out at around $20, most dishes are attractively priced, and the service is usually excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A step up on fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are looking for an excellent meal with fast service, this is the place. Chowder is terrifc, as is the slection of salads and sandwiches; all good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Shaker Deli also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Salt Shaker Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Shaker Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.