We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dockside Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fish Factory Restaurant

Old Fish Factory Restaurant
68 Bluenose Dr | 2nd Floor of Fisheries Museum, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
902 634 3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Chowder, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dockside Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A roomy pub-style restaurant on the waterfront. The food was good and there was a nice selection of local beer available.
A nice spot on the water for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    89
    37
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A bit slow but worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We enjoyed excellent meals June 1, 2014. fish & chips, cape sable salmon and mediterrean haddock. We waited a bit longer than expected but worth the wait! and we had a gorgeous view while waiting!

beautifully presented with fresh veggies and garlic mashed potatoes! Kudos to the chef!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
“So slow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has a great view of the Atlantic....but that's all it has going for it. It took 30 mins for us to get our drinks and over an hour for us to get our lunch. When asked by our waitress how everything was we commented on how slow the service was and we got no response from her, not even an "I'm sorry". There was also a bus tour in the restaurant at the same time we were mad some of those poor people didn't even get their food before their bus left. Definitely won't be going back there!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishFactory, General Manager at Old Fish Factory Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Megan
Thank you for bringing to our attention the lunch that you experienced here at The Old Fish Factory and Ice House Bar this past week. It is always a concern when dining guests have an unfortunate dining experience.
A huge challenge in any business is the balance between appropriate staffing levels for the current business at hand. Any unannounced large group of dining guests is a challenge even when we are fully staffed and becomes that much more difficult when we are unaware they are joining us as their lunch stop.
I am truly sorry for your unpleasant lunch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

You can see the bus loads of tourists that pull into the fish factory parking lot all being herded into the restaurant to the trough of over processed left overs from the day before's table scraps.
The food here is appalling!
There is no love no care, they solely go for the unaware tourist, you will never find a local dinning here.
The only thing you will find a local doing maybe is the rum club. They don't eat the food.
Be warned, stomach upset in inevitable if you eat at this establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great location, too bad about the food..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The dockside dining at this location is really fantastic. It was great to see the views overlooking Lunenburg harbour while enjoying our dinner. We ordered the sea food platter, and had pretty high expectations considering the prices are a little steep. It ended up being simple, deep fried, seafood. Don't get me wrong, we ate it all, but for the price we expected something sensational. Would probably not return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishFactory, General Manager at Old Fish Factory Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to express your comments about your dining experience with the Old Fish Factory Restaurant. As well I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations when you dined with us last July. It is never our intention to produce or serve any meal that is sub standard, however it seems that you might have had a less than desirable meal. For that I apologize.
Mike Mawhinney
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fish Factory Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Halifax Region, Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Old Fish Factory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fish Factory Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.