We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd NEVER enter!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Good Luck Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Good Luck Restaurant
15 Lincoln, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
902.634.8898
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 35 restaurants in Lunenburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'd NEVER enter!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just the look of the place is sketchy! I've NEVER seen anyone go in, or come out. Their sign always says "Open" but I have no idea if it actually even operates.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

12% Recommend
    0
    1
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Luck Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Family run restaurant putting out tasty Chinese food. The service was friendly with food delivered in a timely manner. Particularly enjoyed the won ton soup and sweet and sour shrimp.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a huge, largely empty restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Food mediocre, service also. The restaurant is large and it is usually empty or has one table occupied.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What was I thinking???? Not fit for a dog.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I LOVE Chinese food. I knew that the chances of Lunenburg having a good Chinese food restaurant were slim, but I didn’t know it was going to be this bad. Inedible, that the best way to describe it.

I was drawn in with the promise of lobster fried rice. Where else in the world are you going to get that? It tasted like last months lobster cured on a bed of salt. The dish reeked of old fish so badly that it was barely tolerable on the drive home.

The Cantonese chowmein tasted like it was soaked in fish juice. The spring rolls were the only thing edible and tasted like they were from Costco and previously frozen.

We paid close to 50$ for our order and I felt bad about wasting the food, so I rinsed off the sauces and tried to feed it to our 3 dogs. Not one of them would touch it. Really. Not a nibble.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Corner, NS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What is happening here?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our sevice was friendly, and the place appeared to be as clean as a whistle, washrooms included, but there was a mustly smell throughout. It all looks as if is about to close, very old and dated. Menu is interesting and diverse, and our meals were very good. Outside is really very poorly done. Both the outside and inside need to be re-vamped, and I would suggest someone find out the source of the musty smell. There is no other outlet for Chinese food in Lunenburg, so they have a cornered market and could therefore be doing much bette if they updated the inside and outside decor as well as did something about the smell. Obviously from the menu, the cook has a good handle on things. Wait staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Luck Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Good Luck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Luck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.