We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia's Grill

Magnolia's Grill
128 Montague St, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
(902) 634-3287
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Moncton, NB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Service was lacking, but the food was to die for. We were seated on the deck (it was a tight fit), which had a beautiful view of the harbor. I ordered the scallops, which had so many scallops I couldn't finish. They were to die for. Other members of our party had the lobster pasta, the fish cakes, the night's special pan seared halibut (best I've ever tasted). The food was outstanding. The waitress was not attentive and very slow, but we could totally ignore this for the awesome food--absolutely the most important. The inside wasn't impressive, I highly recommend having your meal on the deck.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    62
    23
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rindge, NH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our Sunday Brunch was delightful. Eggs Benedict while gazing at the Lunenbur wharf. We go there often

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've been to Magnolia's twice, once this year and once last, with both times being a less than average experience. The food is fairly good, but priced slightly higher than what I expect and doesn't really stand out against alternatives in the area. The decor/atmosphere is also not to my taste. For those visiting the area, it lacks the harbor or town view that you get from many other restaurants. Above all, the service during my first visit was among the poorest I've ever had, and it wasn't much better the second time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really nice little place for a casual meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very nice dinner here. Good food and very friendly staff! We had the Lobster pasta - very tasty.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“do not eat there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I do not understand the good reviews for this restaurant. I had a bad experience while there and I found the staff and the owner were really not concerned at all. They had a very arrogant attitude about the whole thing and made me feel like I was in the wrong and just being difficult.
In retrospect when we entered the restaurant we were told to come back in a half an hour and we were saying should we go back, as we just did not have a good feeling ,just from booking a table. There are lots of great places find one of those and avoid this one.

gvg1

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia's Grill also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Magnolia's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.