We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April in Lunenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spinnaker Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Spinnaker Inn to your Saves list
Spinnaker Inn
126 Montague St., Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J2C0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Pictou
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“April in Lunenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Beautiful room #3 with en suite, luxurious king bed, view overlooking harbour, four tall ships in harbour including The Bluenose. Even the weather was good for the week (last of april) with only bits of rain and one cold day - lots of sun warm. Hostess nice and helpful, chambermaid sweet - a Newfoundlander. Middle of town with two nationally recommended restaurants just beside us. Clean/private. Amenities in room excellent. Light breakfast stuff in room -coffee/teas etc. oatmeal, wine glasses... Walking distance to fisheries museum many excellent restaurants. Bought down the street 10 lbs scallops and haddock fillets to take home to Pictou. Small town traffic and harbour noises (fog horn in am) . Off season rates good value. Stairs to each room

Room Tip: Saw all 4 rooms. Two regular rooms super, #3 marginally nice than #4. #1 and #2 are two level accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Beautiful, immediate and small scale (a very good thing, in my opinion) the Inn was far better than anything I was expecting, much less for the spot on price. It's lovely, and Christina is a wonderful innkeep, and her attention to detail and comfort is astounding.

I traveled solo, quite a distance, and even though it was quite a bit earlier than check-in time, Christina let me in. The room was homelike and so comforting after twenty hours in a car!
Unfortunately, I cannot give this little place a higher score than Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful inn over Christmas with our 4 year old son in the Spinnaker Suite. Christina the Innkeeper was incredible. She even provided some toys and a special blanket for our son! Given that most food stores were closed during the holiday season, Christina even stocked our fridge and kitchenette with some festive goodies and necessities. And just to make us feel at home, we woke up to a thoughtful Christmas stocking hung on the door filled with some treats from "Santa". So thoughtful! The King size bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub a delight. The Inn is very clean, quiet and situated in a central location to get anywhere in the town. Beautiful view of the harbour from the Spinnaker Suite. We will definitely be back! Tip- try the Scuttlebutt restaurant across the street for breakfast. Delicious.

Room Tip: Spinnaker Suite a great two level room with kitchenette and fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I always want to be in the center of an old town. Parking is always a problem and this hotel has no parking.. However, a spot opened up in front as we arrived. Christina Stubb, Inn Keeper, fed the meter for us for the rest of the afternoon. We filled it up the next day as we only had one night in this charming town.

The rooms were clean and decorated very nicely. The bathroom was huge. II took one star away because there were stairs to get up to your room. Then when you are in the room, the master suite and bathroom are up another flight of stairs. Luckily. my daughter took the downstairs bed and didn't need to use the bathroom as much as I did.

The town is on a hill so wee took Trot in Time, a carriage ride which we enjoyed. So between walking, carriage ride and when we moved the car we saw a lot of the town. The fog horn went on all night, but didn't bother us, but we had to ride over to the other side of the harbor near a golf course to get an overview picture of the town.

We ate next door for dinner (can't remember the name) and the meal was good. Reservations would be a good idea as it was very crowded,.

We enjoyed our short visit. However. if I come back I would look for a place with less stairs as I am almost 70 and try to avoid stairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Spinnaker Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our Inn and I am happy to hear our location was ideal for you and our rooms comfortable for your stay. We do try to give our guests a heads up about the stairs especially if traveling in a group. Please note we do have one level rooms without extra stairs and these offer great views across the harbour. Lunenburg is a hilly town and Trot in Time is an excellent way to see our town and its history . The Spinnaker Inn has street parking only and we do our best to help guests by paying for parking in the mornings. Free parking is available please ask when booking. The town of Lunenburg offers free parking all weekends and holidays and during the week only charges from 10 am to 5 pm where the cost is $1 for 2 hours. Waterfront parking is available for $4 per day. All funds help to keep our town a wonderful place to visit for the day or to base your holiday for an extended stay. Please consult Christina for the best places to see and visit along the South Shore we have lots of tips for guests to explore our lovely area. We look forward to welcoming new and past guests again to our Inn. Our large suites are ideal for honeymoons, weekend getaways and are excellent family rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My family and I stayed here for one night, while the weather was terrible the room was great! Very nice size room which was able to accomodate a cot for our daughter. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the view from the room was very nice. Unfortunately, it was pouring rain during our stay, but the Innkeeper leant us an umbrella and gave us some great advice on some of the local points of interest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

the spinnaker is a wonderful place to stay-- the amenities were fabulous--- jacuzzi tub, king size bed, ironed linens.... view of the harbor----
would recommend this and hope to return someday... in fact, while on a whale watching trip in the bay of fundy a few days after our stay, gave the card to a young couple with 2 darling little boys----

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Spinnaker Inn in mid-July and were very pleased with our stay. The owner and housekeeper were friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, nicely appointed with a beautiful view of the harbour. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spinnaker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Inn

Address: 126 Montague St., Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique accommodation on Lunenburg's historic waterfront. Queen and King beds, all private en-suite bathrooms some with whirlpool tub. Large split level kitchenette suites Wi Fi ,TV, radio and complimentary tea and coffee facilities. Great beds, great views, great value and large waterfront deck cafe. An excellent location for your visit to Lunenburg and all the south shore highlights, Peggy's Cove, Chester, Mahone Bay, and Hirtles Beach. Ideal for Honeymoons, golf getaways and Spa or fitness packages available. Come relax and enjoy our Inn. Open year round for your anytime escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Spinnaker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinnaker Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.